Home > Editorial > You are here > Portrait; Meet Christel, the alpaca whisperer 

PORTRAIT; MEET CHRISTEL, THE ALPACA WHISPERER 

I would have loved to go and meet Christel like I did with Axelle, on her farm, bathed in the warm June sunshine. But with a different schedule and different organization, it was on the other end of a telephone line that I had the opportunity to get to know Christel, the breeder and owner of the Alpacas at KerLA which provides some of the wools used by La Maison de la Maille.

OK_20210721_alpagas_Kerla_Christel_DSC1754.jpeg

I would have loved to go and meet Christel like I did with Axelle, on her farm, bathed in the warm June sunshine. But with a different schedule and different organization, it was on the other end of a telephone line that I had the opportunity to get to know Christel, the breeder and owner of the Alpacas at KerLA which provides some of the wools used by La Maison de la Maille. After a shy beginning (apparently something common among camelid breeders) the conversation quickly became as flowing as it was cordial. 

And she has an interesting story to tell.
From her very infancy, Christel was passionate about horses and grew up with this long-lasting love. While many people fantasize about living in big cities, she threw herself into country life, surrounded by her horses and with the burning desire to create her own owners’ stable. A dream that, like many, would first be shelved, because of lack of means and insufficient family support to embark on this life project off the beaten track. In a more ordinary but nevertheless exciting vein, this young Breton woman decided to study history, before graduating and then becoming a teacher for 25 years. “I liked my job very much, and I did a lot of things, but I also ended up feeling out of place there. And when you've always had a dream, it's impossible to forget it”. 

At the age of 45, and with an almost fundamental need to change her lifestyle, or to live the life she had always wanted to live, Christel finally resigned from her job as a teacher, and took a leap into the unknown with no safety net but still with the idea in mind of having a farm and horses. Determined not to give up on her dreams, Christel embarked on a search (which turned out to be much more complex than expected) and ended up settling in Maine-et-Loire in a rented farmhouse while waiting to find the ideal estate to buy. 

Llamas? Christel was never really interested in them until she met them during a brief visit to some friends. There, it was love at first sight, so much so that they even succeeded in bringing about a change of heart in this gentle breeder; “something special happened, I immediately felt at ease with them. So I started breeding with my horses and a few llamas. Later I decided to incorporate alpacas. I like spinning wool so it was an obvious choice for me”. 

Where? Brittany was the primary objective, but after a failed attempt to buy a property, it fell through. “I am Breton by birth, and I dreamed of a farm in Brittany in the Finisterre. I found it but I didn’t have the planning permission. So I found myself in Mayenne by the greatest of coincidences”. 

Although uprooted and alone in her breeding project, Christel did not give up and launched herself into three intense years of work, managing to transform her farm into a proper operation. Only now, looking back, does she realize what a substantial and grueling project it was. Ten years later, she is the very epitome of personal satisfaction. 

“I am extremely handy and resourceful, so I wasn't afraid to be on my own. I took over an abandoned farm, I had to manage most of it myself, I had to start from scratch. When you're faced with that, you don't really realize it, you just attack it and go at it in small steps. It's a good thing I didn't realize how much work it was going to entail or I don't think I would have done it. In ten years I have managed to create something really different and I have the satisfaction of telling myself that I have succeeding in doing it with my own hands.” 

I have met the alpacas myself. Not Christel's, but Axelle's. And yes, they are absolutely irresistible and I have no problem understanding why they can provoke such an attachment. Yes, this reconversion in the countryside, surrounded by animals and nature, sounds like a good idea. But that’s without knowing the constraints associated with managing an animal farm. Having a breeding farm means kissing Cali's neck (I haven't cured my obsession) and scratching his back, but it also means loneliness, non-stop work, responsibilities and physically exhausting tasks. And I am left with nothing but relentless admiration, which will stay with me until my last breath (isn’t that lovely?), for the self-sacrifice of our two breeders. 

“I am alone on the farm and I have to admit that it is not always easy. I'm permanently stuck on the farm, I haven't had a vacation in ten years and it's impossible for me to be away from the farm even for a day if I don't have anyone to help me. Socially it's complicated, it isolates me.” However, despite the difficulties, Christel doesn't miss her previous life and can't see herself doing anything else. "I love living with my animals; it's the choice I made and I was aware of what I was committing myself to. I have a life that suits me perfectly and even if some people consider it slavery, I am proud to have given it a meaning.” 

And what a success she’s made of it! 

Ten years of breeding, hard work, courage and passion have made the farm a going concern. But because she is not the kind of person to rest on her laurels, Christel continues to do her utmost to develop the farm and propose new things to familiarize people with alpacas, about which she believes we still have a lot to learn. Proud of her quality herd and of the skills she has acquired over the years, this breeder seems happy to talk forever (although I'll have to hang up at some point) and explains that her goal today is to work on the fineness of the alpaca's fiber and its durability. This is undoubtedly an essential reason for her close collaboration with La Maison de la Maille

For those who are curious, the indefatigable Christel also offers training courses on the farm to teach more about the world of alpacas and spinning. “Since 2015 I have been offering workshops; I have a wool workshop in which I was already spinning my wool before settling here, and I give two-day courses on wool knowledge and spinning. I also provide courses for people to find out more about alpacas. My training as a teacher and historian helped me because I am very curious, so I learned a lot about the alpaca. Today, it is part of my activity to train myself as much as possible. My next training course? In 10 days' time, run in conjunction with my veterinarian, on how to care for alpacas”.

Time is ticking away and Christel seems so keen on sharing her passion that I have no desire to stop her. We exchange a few words of goodbye, still as cordial as ever, and then I hang up. Christel’s fervor for what she does is patently obvious, and I have nothing but admiration for her. 

Is there anything more noble than succeeding in following the path that suits us best, with no doubts ever crossing our mind, regardless of the obstacles that we face? It’s worth thinking about. 

And here I am, a person capable of cancelling a work appointment just because it’s raining too hard outside or I haven’t washed my hair. 

Article written by Laura Isaaz

Discover more products: 

Alpaga.jpg

These 10 things you didn't know about alpacas

Where is he from ? What is he doing ? How is his fleece? Is he nice, clean and sociable? We have closely studied the different characteristics of the alpaca in order to tell you a little more about this animal species still relatively unknown in Europe. Since its fiber is widely used in the manufacture of our La Maison de la Maille products, it seemed essential to us to highlight the 10 most important (and no doubt surprising) traits of its personality.

Read more

Pourquoi doit-on tondre les Alpagas.jpg

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici > Portrait ; Christel, la femme qui murmurait à l'oreille des alpagas

PORTRAIT ; CHRISTEL, LA FEMME QUI MURMURAIT À L’OREILLE DES ALPAGAS

J’aurais adoré pouvoir aller à la rencontre de Christel comme je l’ai fait avec Axelle, dans son élevage et sous le soleil tiède de juin. À planning différent, organisation différente, c’est à l’autre bout du fil que j’ai eu la chance de faire la connaissance de Christel, éleveuse et propriétaire des Alpagas de KerLA qui fournit une partie des laines de La Maison de la Maille. Après des débuts timides (à croire que c’est commun aux éleveuses de camélidés) la conversation est devenue rapidement aussi fluide que chaleureuse.

OK_20210721_alpagas_Kerla_Christel_DSC1754.jpeg

Le récit n’est pas banal.


Dès son plus jeune âge, Christel se passionne pour les chevaux et grandit avec cet amour qui ne la quitte pas. Alors que beaucoup se fantasment dans les grandes villes, c’est à la campagne qu’elle se projette, entourée de ses équidés et avec l’envie brûlante de créer sa propre écurie de propriétaires. Un rêve qui, comme beaucoup, sera d’abord rangé au placard, faute de moyens et d’un soutien familial suffisant pour se lancer dans ce projet de vie hors des clous. Dans un registre plus ordinaire mais néanmoins passionnant, c’est le chemin des études d’histoire que décide d’emprunter la jeune bretonne qui en sort diplômée et devient alors professeure pendant 25 ans. « J’ai beaucoup aimé mon métier, j’ai fait énormément de choses mais j’ai aussi fini par ne plus y trouver ma place. Et un rêve, quand on l’a toujours eu, c’est impossible de l’oublier ».
 

45 ans et le besoin presque vital de changer de vie, ou de vivre celle qu’elle a toujours souhaité vivre, finalement. Christel démissionne de son poste de professeure, comme un saut dans le vide avec aucun filet mais avec en tête toujours d’avoir une ferme et des chevaux. Bien décidée à ne pas renoncer à ses rêves, Christel lance les recherches (qui s’avéreront bien plus complexes que prévu) et finit par s’installer dans le Maine- et-Loire au sein d’une ferme de location en attendant de trouver le domaine idéal à acheter.


Les lamas ? Christel ne s’y est jamais vraiment intéressée avant de faire leur connaissance au détour d’un moment passé chez des amis. Là, c’est le coup de foudre, si bien qu’ils réussiront même la prouesse de faire vaciller le cœur de la douce éleveuse ; « il s’est passé quelque chose de spécial, je me suis tout de suite sentie bien avec eux. J’ai donc commencé l’élevage avec mes chevaux et quelques lamas. C’est plus tard que j’ai décidé d’intégrer les alpagas. J’aime filer la laine donc ça a été un peu comme une évidence pour moi ».


Où ? La Bretagne comme objectif premier mais qui, après une tentative d’achat avortée, tombe à l’eau. « Je suis bretonne d’origine, je rêvais d’une ferme en Bretagne dans le Finistère. Je l’ai trouvée mais je n’ai pas eu les autorisations pour les aménagements. Je me suis donc retrouvée en Mayenne par le plus grand des hasards. ».


Déracinée et seule dans son projet d’élevage, Christel ne baisse pas les bras pour autant et se lance dans trois années intenses de travaux pour arriver à transformer sa ferme en exploitation correcte. Un chantier conséquent et éreintant dont elle réalise l’ampleur aujourd’hui lorsqu’elle regarde au-dessus de son épaule.  Dix ans après, c’est la satisfaction personnelle qui parle.


« Je suis extrêmement bricoleuse et débrouillarde, ça ne me faisait pas peur d’être seule. J’ai pris une ferme à l’abandon, j’ai dû tout gérer en grande partie moi-même, il a fallu tout casser. Quand on est face à ça on ne se rend pas tellement compte, on attaque et on y va par petit bout. Heureusement d’ailleurs que je ne réalisais pas la charge que ça allait représenter sinon je crois que je ne l’aurais pas fait. En dix ans j’ai réussi à créer quelque chose de vraiment différent et j’ai la satisfaction de me dire que j’ai réussi à faire ça de mes mains. »


Je les ai rencontrés moi, les alpagas. Pas ceux de Christel, mais ceux d’Axelle. Oui, ils sont absolument irrésistibles et je comprends sans aucune difficulté qu’ils puissent provoquer un tel attachement. Oui, ça fait envie cette reconversion à la campagne, au milieu des animaux et de la nature. Mais, c’est sans connaitre les contraintes liées à la gestion d’une exploitation animale. Avoir un élevage c’est faire des bisous dans le cou de Cali (je n’ai pas guéri de mon obsession) et lui gratter le dos mais c’est aussi la solitude, le travail non-stop, les responsabilités, les tâches épuisantes physiquement. De quoi me donner la force d’admirer sans relâche et jusqu’à mon dernier souffle (c’est beau) l’abnégation de nos deux éleveuses.


« Je suis seule sur l’exploitation et je dois admettre que ça n’est pas toujours facile. Je suis en permanence bloquée à la ferme, je n’ai pas pris de vacances depuis dix ans et il m’est impossible de m’absenter de l’élevage ne serait-ce qu’une journée si je n’ai personne pour m’aider. Socialement c’est compliqué, ça isole. » Pour autant et malgré les difficultés, Christel ne regrette en rien sa vie d’avant et ne se voit pas faire autre chose. « J’aime vivre avec mes animaux, c’est un choix et j’avais conscience de ce à quoi je m’engageais. J’ai une vie qui me convient parfaitement et même si certains considèrent que c’est de l’esclavage, je suis fière de lui avoir donné un sens. »


Et puis quelle réussite surtout !


Dix ans d’élevage, de labeur, de courage et de passion qui font aujourd’hui de la ferme une affaire qui tourne. Mais parce qu’elle n’est pas du genre à se reposer sur ses acquis, Christel continue de tout mettre en œuvre pour faire évoluer l’exploitation et proposer de nouvelles choses pour familiariser les gens avec les alpagas qui sont encore selon elle trop méconnus. Fière de son cheptel de qualité et des compétences acquises au fil des années, l’éleveuse que je n’arrête plus (il va pourtant falloir que je raccroche un jour) m’explique que son objectif aujourd’hui est de travailler sur la finesse de fibre des alpagas et sa durabilité. Une raison sans doute essentielle à sa collaboration étroite avec La Maison de la Maille.


Avis aux curieux, Christel l’infatigable propose aussi des stages au sein de l’élevage pour découvrir l’univers des alpagas et le filage. « Depuis 2015 je propose des stages, j’ai un atelier laine dans lequel je filais ma laine déjà avant de m’installer, j’y donne des cours de connaissance de la laine et de filage sur deux jours. Je fais aussi des stages sur la connaissance des alpagas. Ma formation d’enseignante et d’historienne m’a servie car je suis très curieuse, je me suis donc beaucoup renseignée sur l’alpaga. Ça fait aujourd’hui partie de mon activité de me former au maximum. Ma prochaine formation ? Dans 10 jours, co-animée avec mon vétérinaire sur les soins aux alpagas ».


Les aiguilles de l’horloge tournent et Christel semble tellement aimer partager sa passion que je n’ai aucune envie de l’arrêter. Nous échangeons deux trois mots d’au revoir, chaleureux toujours, et puis je raccroche. Riche de toute cette ferveur véhiculée par l’amour de Christel pour son métier et surtout très admirative.
Existe-t-il quelque chose de plus noble que de réussir à prendre le chemin qui est vraiment le nôtre, sans jamais douter et en faisant fi des obstacles ? À méditer.
Moi, cette personne foutue d’annuler un rdv de boulot juste parce qu’il pleut trop dehors ou que je ne me suis pas lavé les cheveux.


Article écrit par Laura Isaaz

Produit à découvrir : 

Alpaga.jpg

D’où vient-il ? Que fait-il ? Comment est sa toison ? Est-il gentil, propre et sociable ? Nous avons étudié de près les différentes caractéristiques de l’alpaga afin de vous en dire un peu plus sur cette espèce animale encore assez peu connue en Europe. Sa fibre étant très utilisée dans la fabrication de nos produits La Maison de la Maille, il nous semblait essentiel de mettre en lumière les 10 traits les plus importants (et surprenants sans doute) de sa personnalité.

Lire la suite

Pourquoi doit-on tondre les Alpagas.jpg