Home > Editorial > You are here

DECO: THE 10 ESSENTIALS TO HAVE

As in fashion (if you're good, you can also have the list later), decor has a few timeless pieces that promise our interior to look great. Without breaking up the housing savings plan to play the decorista hoping to see her name in big letters in MILK Magazine, there are 10 decor essentials that are enough to seem like you know. And it does the job.

20180807_WebStyleStory_DSC08902 1-2.jpg

A THROW

 

Yes, a throw. For too long it was considered a simple object to keep our toes warm. Slowly, it has managed to regain its image becoming a decorative piece in its own right. Imagined in prestigious wool, chic and timeless colors, the throw is invited on the edges of sofas, armchairs, at the end of the bed... Bringing a cozy and sophisticated touch to the interiors, whether classic or more contemporary. Be careful, however, to choose a model whose fabric and design are up to par. Therefore, A La Maison de la Maille throw.

 

A DESIGNER LAMP

This is forgivable snobbery. A designer lamp is for decoration what a designer bag is to fashion.Put a Celine bag on a woman who is wearing a Mango outfit and you will still feel like she is quite in fashion. Put a Pipistrello or an Artemide on a Confo or But buffet and you will immediately think that it is a piece of furniture from the finest craftsmanship. The ruse.

 

A BEAUTIFUL RUG

 

Again, having a beautiful rug at home is the assurance of being seen as someone with taste. A minimum, in any case. Of course, if the rug is well chosen. It's quite simple, to be sure you don't go too far off the path, the best thing is to choose a plain model. A pretty mouse gray or cream(which will go very well with our heather gray merino throw or our cream baby alpaca throw). If you have kids, pets, or even friends who haven't understood the concept of removing dirty shoes, please know that we are doing our best to give you the best advice. Oh and for the most easily influenced, you can treat yourself to a beautiful Berber model. It's seen and seen again, but it continues to do the trick.

 

A TRUMEAU MIRROR

 

A what? A trumeau mirror. Like the ones you see everywhere above old fireplaces. Coming back from oblivion for a few years, the trumeau mirror is good for completely dressing aside board, a bathroom cabinet, a desk, a fireplace... And even if it is old, it can be married wit hall styles of interiors. The trick: go for a ride on Leboncoin. The second trick: avoid very old models that contain mercury.

 

A THRIFTED OBJECT

 

Notice to allergy sufferers, you are in trouble. Indeed, today more than ever, vintage is on the rise in the world of decoration (and not only). Whether it be in Instagram accounts for inspiration or for resale abound on the internet, there is a much easier (and cheaper) way to find pretty nuggets to take home: flea markets.Seventies furniture, old knick-knacks, old crockery, demijohn, paintings... Sometimes just a little nothing is needed to give your decor the twist it lacked. Words of wisdom from a thrifter (I speak of decoration, obviously).

 

PILLOWS

 

Long thrown in the same basket as the throw, the pillow is no longer seen as just a friend who relieves your neck in front of Netflix. Patterned, plain, velvet, embroidered... Today there are a      slew of irresistibly pretty models from major design brands. The decorating idea of the day: mix different formats and different prints/colors on the bed and/or on the sofa.

 

BOOKS

 

You don't like to read and you prefer to watch the Marseillais? No big deal (well, yes, but that's not so much the topic today). You can still let the people who come to your house think you are learned and cultured by filling your shelves in the living room with novels and sliding two or three big books on Dali, Matisse or Schiele on your coffee table. Because nothing ultimately looks much prettier than a book. And who knows, maybe one day in a moment of terrible weakness or abysmal boredom, you'll want to open one.

 

ONE (OR SOME) CANDLE(S)

 

To polish up your decor at a lower cost, candles are concrete allies. Whether it be scented or in candle holders... They provide a warm, intimate and elegant atmosphere. For the more sophisticated (and the richest, let's be honest) there are essential brands like Diptyque, Cire Trudon, Jo Malone or Byredo.

 

A PLANT

 

You still have to have a minimum of a green thumb (and no stupid cat on the horizon), but the plant is a decorative piece that we don't think about enough. Straight from the Scandinavian countries and their Instagram goddesses who seem to live in show apartments, the "green plant" trend is now well established here. So there are more and more sales organized in ephemeral places in Paris to find a few cute ficus trees at reduced prices.

 

AN ORIGINAL VASE

 

It was because we needed 10 but in real life, well, not necessary.Well, a little bit anyway. Let's say the advantage of a pretty vase is that even when empty, it fills its job as a decorative object. And the good news is that today it is very easy to find a model without necessarily going to Anissa Kermiche. The $3 billion ideas? We put a bouquet of dried flowers on it so that we don't have to think about it.

Discover more products: 

BABY ALPACA WOOL PLAID - CREAM

BABY ALPACA WOOL PLAID - CREAM

€529.00Price
Utilisations du plaid.jpg

If the primary function of a throw is first to accompany us during our winter evenings in front of the TV or by the fireside, it turns out that it is not as single-tasked as it seems. Its uses may be more varied than you think. As a decorative object at home, when traveling, in the summer or slipped into the diaper bag ...

We tell you everything.

Read more

Le%20Hygge_edited.jpg

Even if you are not familiar with the word "Hygge", you may have heard about this super hype trend. Creating a cosy home decor, taking time for yourself, treasuring moments with your intimate circle, cooking food that you like... If you are already practicing any of those, you might already be on your way to living a "Hygge" life.

Read more

Subscribe to La Maison de la Maille: 

© 2021 La maison de la maille

Need help?

 

Contact us

+33 2 85 85 97 74


contact@lamaisondelamaille.com

 

La flèche (72) - paris (75)

France

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici

TOP 10 DES INTEMPORELS DÉCO À AVOIR

Comme dans la mode (si vous êtes sages, vous aurez la liste aussi plus tard), la déco compte quelques intemporels qui promettent à notre intérieur d’avoir fière allure. Sans pour autant éventrer le plan épargne logement pour se la jouer décorista en espérant voir son nom en grosses lettres dans le MILK Magazine, il existe 10 indispensables déco qui suffisent pour avoir l’air de s’y connaitre. Et ça fait le job.

20180807_WebStyleStory_DSC08902 1-2.jpg

UN PLAID

 

Eh oui, un plaid. Trop longtemps considéré comme un simple objet qui se glisse sur les orteils transits de froid, il a doucement réussi à se redorer le blason pour devenir une pièce déco à part entière. Imaginé dans des lainages de prestige, des coloris chic et intemporels, le plaid s’invite sur le rebord des canapés, des fauteuils, en bout de lit... Apportant une touche cosy et sophistiquée aux intérieurs qu’ils soient classiques ou plus contemporains. Attention cependant de veiller à choisir un modèle dont la tenue et le design sont à la hauteur. Un plaid La Maison de la Maille, donc.

 

UNE LAMPE DE DESIGNER

 

C’est le snobisme pardonnable. Une lampe de designer est à la déco ce qu’est un sac de créateur dans la mode. Mettez un sac Céline sur une femme qui porte une tenue Mango et vous aurez quand même le sentiment qu’elle pèse très lourd. Mettez une Pipistrello ou une Artemide sur un buffet Confo ou But et vous penserez d’office que c’est un meuble issu du plus bel artisanat. La ruse.

 

UN BEAU TAPIS

Là encore, avoir un beau tapis chez soi c’est l’assurance de passer pour quelqu’un qui a du goût. Un minimum, en tout cas. Et si le tapis est bien choisi. C’est assez simple, pour être sûr.e de ne pas faire de grosses sorties de route le mieux c’est encore de choisir un modèle uni. Un joli gris souris ou un crème (qui ira très bien avec notre plaid mérinos gris chiné ou notre plaid baby-alpaga crème). Si vous avez des enfants, des animaux ou même des amis qui n’ont pas compris le concept du retrait de chaussures sales, vous allez probablement nous jeter un sort mais sachez que nous faisons de notre mieux pour vous donner les meilleurs conseils. Ah et pour les plus influençables, vous pouvez vous offrir un beau modèle berbère. C’est vu et re-vu mais ça continue de faire l’affaire.

 

UN MIROIR TRUMEAU

 

Un quoi ? Un miroir trumeau. Comme ceux que l’on voit partout sur les cheminées anciennes. Revenu de l’oubli depuis quelques années, le miroir trumeau a ça de bon qu’il habille complètement une enfilade, un meuble de salle de bain, un plan de travail, une cheminée... Et même s’il est ancien, il se marie avec tous les styles d’intérieurs. L’astuce : aller faire un tour sur Leboncoin. L’astuce bis : éviter les modèles très anciens qui contiennent du mercure.

UN OBJET CHINÉ

 

Avis aux allergiques des vieilleries, vous êtes dans le pétrin. En effet, aujourd’hui plus que jamais encore, le vintage a le vent en poupe dans l’univers de la déco (et pas que). Alors que les comptes Instagram d’inspirations mais aussi de revente pullulent sur les sites internets, il existe un moyen bien plus simple (et moins cher) de trouver de jolies pépites à mettre chez soi : les brocantes. Meubles seventies, vieux bibelots, vaisselle ancienne, dame Jeanne, tableaux... Il suffit parfois d’un rien pour donner à sa déco le twist qui lui manquait. Parole de chineuse (je parle de déco, évidemment).

 

DES COUSSINS

 

Longtemps jeté dans la même panière pleine de mépris que le plaid, le coussin n’est plus aujourd’hui vu uniquement comme un pote qui vous soulage les cervicales devant Netflix. À motifs, unis, en velours, brodés... Il existe aujourd’hui une flopée de modèles irrésistiblement jolis chez les grandes marques de design. L’idée déco du jour : on mélange sur le lit et/ou sur le canapé les différents formats et les différents imprimés/coloris.

 

DES LIVRES

Vous n’aimez pas lire et vous préférez regarder les Marseillais ? Pas grave (enfin si, mais ça n’est pas tellement le sujet aujourd’hui). Vous pouvez quand même laisser les gens qui viennent chez vous penser que vous êtes un être érudit et cultivé en remplissant vos étagères dans le salon de romans et en glissant sur votre table basse deux ou trois gros ouvrages sur Dali, Matisse ou Schiele. Parce que rien n’est finalement beaucoup plus joli qu’un livre. Et qui sait, peut-être qu’un jour dans un moment de faiblesse terrible, d’ennui abyssal, vous aurez envie d’en ouvrir un.

 

UNE (OU DES) BOUGIE

Pour peaufiner sa déco à moindre coût, les bougies sont des alliées béton. Qu’elles soient en cierge, parfumées, dans des photophores... Elles apportent une ambiance chaleureuse, intimiste et élégante. Pour les plus pointus (et les plus riches, soyons honnêtes) il existe des marques incontournables comme Diptyque,Cire Trudon, Jo Malone ou encore Byredo.

 

UNE PLANTE

 

Encore faut-il avoir un minimum la main verte (et pas de chat con à l’horizon),mais la plante est une pièce déco à laquelle on ne pense pas suffisamment. Tout droit venue des pays scandinaves et de leurs déesses d’instagrameuses qui semblent vivre dans des appartements témoins, la tendance «plante verte» est désormais bien implantée chez nous. Si bien qu’il y a de plus en plus de ventes organisées dans des lieux éphémères parisiens pour dégoter à prix réduit quelques mignons ficus.

 

UN VASE ORIGINAL

 

C’était parce qu’il en fallait 10 mais en vrai, bon, pas nécessaire. Enfin si, un peu quand même. Disons que l’avantage d’un joli vase, c’est que même vide, il remplit son taf d’objet déco. Et la bonne nouvelle c’est qu’aujourd’hui il est très facile de trouver un modèle sans forcément aller chez Anissa Kermiche. L’idée qui valait trois milliards ? On y met un bouquet de fleurs séchées pour ne pas avoir à y penser.

Produit à découvrir :