Home > Editorial > You are here > Find out what is hidden under your favorite La Maison de la Maille wool blankets

Find out whO hidES
under your wool blankets

Following on from the interview with our founder Charlotte Huyghues Despointes, now it’s time to lift the veil – or the shawl – on her partner and co-founder François-Xavier Watine.

Francois Watine.jpeg

FRANÇOIS-XAVIER, WHO ARE YOU, AND WHAT DO YOU DO?

I am a photographer, the founder of a creative agency, and the co-founder of La Maison de la Maille. I live in Paris and I also work for other small promising brands in the luxury and top-of-the-range sectors like Dior, Baccarat and Moleskine, among others.

I first came into contact with photography when I was barely 10 years old. I was in a public garden when I found a camera abandoned under a bench. My mother took it to the police but they told us to keep it, it became my first camera. 

After other equally exciting discoveries, a period spent overseas and a few lovely years with Numberly, a digital marketing agency, I set up on my own. I initially didn’t even dare to dream of making photography my profession, but neither had I imagined being able to live one day from blankets and fresh water [editor's note: translation from a pun that also barely makes sense in French], being surrounded with loving alpacas. Everything happened naturally.


HOW DID IT COME ABOUT THAT YOU FOUNDED LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE ?

Charlotte had already been a longstanding friend when she called me one day to tell me about her wish to create a brand of wool blankets. At that point, she wanted me to help her with everything related to the photography side, but also for marketing advice. I told her that I would be too expensive for her (laughs), so I would help her for free, as a friend. One thing led to another, and the idea of me founding this ethical and ecological luxury brand with her became an obvious choice, even though I began the conversation by asking her to remind me what a throw was. We all have our blind spots. (If you too are wondering what a throw is, read this article on the history of the wool throw). Nowadays I can’t do without our blankets, both in summer and winter. They have a cocooning effect on me which is like a meditation session.

The most surprising thing is that I have recently discovered that I had this in my genes. A few weeks ago I came across a photo of my great-great-grandfather and learned that he was the founder of a spinning mill called Filatures Boutemy. The company was created in 1860 and employed as many as 2000 people, before shutting up shop in 1934, as a result of the First World War and the 1929 crash. Despite this, during its history the company left its mark on the history of spinning, and was awarded numerous prizes for its know-how, including a gold medal awarded at the prestigious Paris Universal Exhibition of 1878. It was a close call for us to work together to produce our beautiful woolen blankets, just 100 years.


 

Filatures Boutemy Frères

ARE YOU HAPPY?

I am happy and proud of what we have created with La Maison de la Maille. Myself, Charlotte and the whole team share the same values, both from an ethical standpoint and on the essential contributions required to establish a luxury brand, and our uncompromising attachment to respect for nature and the quality of the product.

Since the brand was founded, our philosophy has been to create the finest wool blankets in the world, with absolute respect for the planet and the animals, while also promoting local know-how. Our mission is to keep you warm without warming the planet. This seems self-evident now, but ecology was not so fashionable when we started out. Our philosophy has not budged an inch and has never been dictated by communication concerns. We are a very long way from the green-washing that certain brands are involved in. The early years were difficult, because producing in France, in a responsible manner, without compromising on quality in any way, even with very small margins, obviously supposes a cost, sometimes difficult to get accepted when faced with less scrupulous competition. Nowadays consumers understand where the price difference comes from and, above all, they see the difference in quality. We are clearly not into the €2 synthetic throw produced who knows where. This can also be seen in our repurchase rate, which is huge. Our customers often find out about us when they want to buy a beautiful throw as a gift and then want to buy a throw for themselves, or vice versa. Some customers tell us that they have one of our throws to use at home, and another for travelling. Other customers want a La Maison de la Maille throw for every room in the house, from the lounge to the bedroom.

Rather than turning up the heating and warming up the planet a little more, or slowly wasting all your savings with increasing energy costs, it is a justifiable investment – not to mention, of course, one which provides pleasure.


WHAT IS YOUR ROLE AT LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE ?

I have multiple roles. Taking photos is one of them, of course, but I also handle marketing, social media and looking out for new opportunities… In short, everything that goes hand in hand with our development and the building of the brand image. I have also donned the investor’s cap, and occasionally that of an alpaca shearer. I have a photo to prove it. OK, I have to admit that it was just a half-shearing, and I’m not sure that either the shearer or the alpaca will let me try again next year. Anyway, my time is fully occupied with photography, the agency and La Maison de la Maille, so I can probably leave this new vocation to one side for the time being. We have some really excellent products (Editor’s note: alpaca wool blankets, recycled wool blankets, merino wool blankets, merino wool shawls), but we still have a lot of work to do on the brand reputation. Still relatively few people know about us, and it’s frustrating to know that we could provide an excellent solution for many more people who feel the cold and don’t want to skimp on quality.
Speaking about this, if you know any journalists, it would mean the world to me if you tell them to talk about us (you can tell them to contact me here).

LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE, MORE THAN JUST A JOB?

Of course. La Maison de la Maille is a moment to experience tenderness and authenticity. Perhaps also because it is a creation that revolves around well-being, for both humans and animals, and that makes everything more affectionate and appealing. The meetings and friendships we have created with the alpaca breeders, Axelle from Alpagas du Clos Tranquille and Christel from Alpagas de KerLa, go way beyond a simple professional relationship. They are already our extended family. We share the same goals, the same values and the same love and respect for the animals. There’s no doubt that these encounters are some of the most precious things in this adventure. Not to mention the fact that Charlotte thinks I will probably end up settling in the middle of a field of alpacas.

DO YOU HAVE ANY OTHER PROJECTS IN PARTICULAR?

My favorite project at the moment is the "Plaid Merveilleux", the Marvelous Throw. This collection is literally marvelous. Every Plaid Merveilleux is the annual wool production of a specific alpaca, which you choose from a photo, with its description, its character, its parents, and so on. When you buy a Plaid Merveilleux (the "Marvelous Throw" in French), you are creating a unique link between the animal and you, and you become a kind of adoptive parent, guardian angel, godfather/godmother, sugar-daddy, call it what you will, of an alpaca, the majority of which are every bit as good as vicuna wool in terms of their delicacy and their quality. People who buy Marvelous Throws can ask us for news about their alpaca, receive photos, and even – when I am there, because they still don’t have their own smartphone – video calls with their alpaca. They can also reserve throws for subsequent years from the same alpaca, on a Vintage basis. It’s our Haute-Couture collection of blankets, with items that are the height of luxury and absolutely unique.
And if you can’t decide between two alpacas, I am always here to offer advice.

Discover more products: 

Charlotte HUYGHUES DESPOINTES 1.jpg

Charlotte Huyghues Despointes, an innovator on so many fronts 

If you don’t know her yet, you are really missing out. Hardworking, funny, committed, sparkling, passionate -Charlotte had the exceedingly brave and brilliant idea to create La Maison de la Maille nearly five years ago to produce 100% Made in France throws. Now La Maison de la Maille has established itself as a renowned high-end brand appreciated by luxury boutiques and major hotels. Always seeking to do more and better, Charlotte is 100% committed to a range of other missions including making French entrepreneurship sexy and promoting the Made in France label. We went to meet her.

leplaidmerveilleux-etiquette-matiere-blog.jpg

Le Plaid Merveilleux, the novelty you've been waiting for

Because La Maison de la Maille never stops wanting to go further in exceptional creation, the brand is launching on Sunday July 4  its novelty: the Marvelous Throw. Even more luxurious than the previous products, it stands out as the essential luxury and ecological decoration. Wonderful and much more.

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici > Découvrez qui se cache sous vos couvertures en laine préférées de La Maison de la Maille

découvrez qui se cache sous vos couvertures 

Après l’interview de notre fondatrice Charlotte Huyghues Despointes, c’est maintenant sur son associé et co-fondateur François-Xavier Watine que nous levons le voile – ou le châle. 

Francois-Xavier_Watine.jpeg

FRANÇOIS-XAVIER, QUI ES-TU, QUE FAIS-TU ?

 

Je suis photographe, fondateur d'une agence de production & communication, et co-fondateur de La Maison de la Maille. J’habite à Paris et je travaille aussi pour d’autres petites marques prometteuses dans le luxe ou le haut-de-gamme comme Dior, Baccarat, ou Moleskine, entre autres. 

 

Ma rencontre avec la photographie a commencé alors que j’avais à peine 10 ans. On se promenait dans un jardin public quand j’ai trouvé un appareil photo abandonné sous un banc. Ma mère l'a amené au Service des Objets Trouvés à la police, et ils nous ont conseillé de le garder. Ce fut le déclic (haha). 

 

Après d’autres découvertes tout aussi excitantes, une période à l’étranger et quelques belles années au sein de Numberly, une agence de marketing digital, je me suis lancé à mon compte. A vrai dire, je n’osais même pas rêver pouvoir faire de la photo mon métier, mais je n’avais pas non plus imaginé pouvoir vivre un jour de couvertures et d’eau fraiche, filant le parfait amour avec des alpagas. Tout est arrivé naturellement. 

 

COMMENT T’ES-TU RETROUVÉ À FONDER LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE ?

 

Charlotte était déjà une amie de longue date lorsqu’elle m’a appelé un jour pour me parler de son envie de créer une marque de couvertures en laine. Elle souhaitait alors que je lui apporte mon aide sur toute la partie photo, mais aussi pour des conseils en marketing. Je lui ai répondu que j'allais être bien trop cher pour elle (rires), et donc que j’allais l’aider gratuitement en tant qu'amie. De fil en aiguille, l’idée que je fonde avec elle cette marque de luxe éthique et écologique s’est imposée un peu comme une évidence, bien que j’ai commencé la conversation en lui demandant de me rappeler ce que c’était qu’un plaid. On a tous nos absences. (si vous aussi vous demandez ce qu’est un plaid, lisez cet article sur l’histoire du plaid en laine). Aujourd’hui je ne peux plus me passer de nos couvertures, été comme hiver. Elles ont sur moi un effet cocooning qui agit comme une séance de méditation.  

 

Le plus étonnant, c’est que j’ai découvert récemment que j’avais ça dans mes gènes. Je suis tombé il y a quelques semaines sur une photo de mon arrière-arrière-grand-père et j’ai appris qu’il était le fondateur d’une filature : les Filatures Boutemy. L’entreprise fût créée en 1860 et employa jusqu’à 2000 personnes, avant de baisser le rideau en 1934, conséquences de la guerre 14-18 et de la crise de 1929. Au fil de son histoire la société aura néanmoins marqué l’histoire du fil, et reçut de nombreuses récompenses pour son savoir-faire, dont une médaille d’or à la prestigieuse Exposition Universelle de Paris en 1878. Il s’en est fallu de peu pour que nous travaillions ensemble pour fabriquer nos belles couvertures en laine, à peine 100 ans.
 

Filatures Boutemy

ES-TU HEUREUX ?

 

Je suis heureux et fier de ce que nous avons créé avec La Maison de la Maille. Avec Charlotte et toute l’équipe, nous partageons les mêmes valeurs, aussi bien d’un point de vue éthique que sur les critères essentiels qui contribuent à l’établissement d’une marque de luxe, comme notre attachement sans compromis au respect de la nature et à la qualité du produit. 

 

Depuis la création de la marque, notre philosophie est de créer les meilleures couvertures en laine au monde, dans un respect absolu de la planète et des animaux, tout en valorisant le savoir-faire local. Notre mission est de vous réchauffer sans réchauffer la planète. Cela parait évident aujourd’hui, mais l’écologie n’était pas autant à la mode lorsque nous nous sommes lancés. Notre philosophie n’a pas bougé d’un fil et n’a jamais été dictée par des impératifs de communication. Nous sommes très loin du green-washing de certaines marques. Les premières années ont été difficiles, car produire en France, de façon responsable, en ne faisant aucun compromis sur la qualité, même avec des marges faibles cela a forcément un coût, parfois difficile à faire accepter face à une concurrence moins scrupuleuse. Aujourd’hui les consommateurs comprennent d’où vient la différence de prix, et surtout, ils voient la différence de qualité. On n’est clairement pas sur du plaid synthétique à 2€ produit on ne sait où. Cela se traduit d’ailleurs dans notre taux de réachat, qui est énorme. Souvent, nos clients nous découvrent en souhaitant acheter un très beau plaid pour un cadeau et veulent ensuite un plaid pour eux, ou inversement. Certains clients nous expliquent qu’ils ont un de nos plaids pour la maison, et un autre de nos plaids pour voyager. D’autres clients veulent un plaid La Maison de la Maille pour chaque pièce de la maison, du salon à la chambre à coucher. 

 

Plutôt que d’augmenter le chauffage et réchauffer encore un peu plus la planète, ou se ruiner à petit feu avec les coûts de l’énergie, c’est un investissement qui se justifie - tout en étant bien sûr un achat pour se faire plaisir.

 

QUEL EST TON RÔLE AU SEIN DE LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE ?

 

Il est multiple. C’est bien sûr de faire les photos, mais aussi de m’occuper du marketing, des réseaux sociaux, de trouver de nouvelles opportunités… En résumé, tout ce qui peut accompagner notre développement et la construction de l’image de marque. J’ai aussi endossé la casquette d’investisseur, et parfois même de tondeur d’alpaga. La preuve en image. Ok j’avoue que c’était juste une demi-tonte et je ne suis pas sûr que ni le tondeur ni l’alpaga ne me laissent réessayer l’année prochaine. De toute façon mes journées sont bien chargées entre la photo, l’agence et La Maison de la Maille, donc je peux probablement laisser de côté cette nouvelle vocation pour le moment. Nous avons des produits vraiment formidables (ndlr : des couvertures en laine d’alpaga, des couvertures en laine recyclée, des couvertures en laine mérinos, des châles en laine mérinos), mais nous avons encore tout à faire sur la notoriété de la marque. Encore relativement peu de gens nous connaissent, et c’est frustrant de savoir que nous pourrions apporter la plus belle solution contre le froid à beaucoup plus de frileux exigeants. Si vous connaissez des journalistes, vous ne pourriez me faire plus plaisir si vous nous aidez à générer plus d'articles sur nous (vous pouvez leur dire de me contacter ici).

 

LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE, PLUS QU’UN TRAVAIL ?

 

Bien sûr. La Maison de la Maille, c’est une parenthèse de douceur et d’authenticité. Peut-être aussi parce que c’est une création qui tourne autour du bien-être, à la fois des humains et des animaux, et que ça rend tout plus tendre et attachant. Les rencontres et amitiés que nous avons créées avec les éleveuses d’alpagas, Axelle des Alpagas du Clos Tranquille et Christel des Alpagas de KerLa, vont bien au-delà de la simple relation professionnelle. C’est déjà notre famille élargie. Nous partageons les mêmes buts, les mêmes valeurs, et le même amour et respect pour les animaux. C’est évident que ces rencontres font partie des choses les plus précieuses de cette aventure. D’ailleurs Charlotte pense que je vais probablement finir par m’installer au milieu d’un champ d’alpagas. 

 

D’AUTRES PROJETS EN PARTICULIER ?

 

Mon projet préféré en ce moment c’est le Plaid Merveilleux. Cette collection est littéralement hors du commun. Chaque Plaid Merveilleux est la production annuelle de laine d’un alpaga spécifique, que vous choisissez sur photo, avec sa description, son caractère, ses parents… En achetant un Plaid Merveilleux, vous créez donc un lien unique entre l’animal et vous, vous devenez en quelque sorte le parent adoptif, l’ange-gardien, le parrain/marraine, le sugar-daddy, appelez-ça comme vous voulez, d’un alpaga, dont la plupart n'ont rien à envier à la laine de vigogne par leur finesse et leur qualité. Les acquéreurs des plaids Merveilleux peuvent nous demander des nouvelles de leur alpaga, recevoir des photos, et même – quand je suis sur place car ils n’ont pas encore leur propre smartphone – des appels vidéo avec leur alpaga. Ils peuvent aussi réserver les plaids des années suivantes pour le même alpaga, sur un principe de Millésime. C’est notre collection Haute-Couture de couvertures, avec des pièces très luxe et absolument uniques. 

Et si vous hésitez entre deux alpagas, je suis toujours pour vous conseiller.

Produit à découvrir : 

Charlotte HUYGHUES DESPOINTES 1.jpg

Charlotte Huyghues Despointes, fondatrice sur tous les fronts

Vous ne la connaissez certainement pas encore, et vous loupez quelque chose. Bosseuse, drôle, engagée, pétillante, passionnée, Charlotte a eu l’idée courageuse et brillante à la fois de créer La Maison de la Maille mais, toujours en quête de faire plus et mieux, Charlotte s’investie aussi à 100% dans plusieurs autres missions comme rendre sexy l’entreprenariat français ainsi que le Made in France, le vrai. Rencontre.

leplaidmerveilleux-etiquette-matiere-blog.jpg

Le Plaid Merveilleux, la nouveauté que vous attendiez

Parce que La Maison de la Maille ne s’arrête jamais de vouloir aller toujours plus loin dans la création d’exception, la marque lance le dimanche 4 juillet  sa nouveauté : le Plaid Merveilleux. Encore plus luxueux que les précédents produits, il s’impose comme l’indispensable déco luxe et écolo. Merveilleux et bien plus encore.