Home > Editorial

The Journal of La Maison

The cushion: what you don't know about it

We recently announced the news that La Maison de la Maille is expanding its offer by now offering cushions to match the throws. Immense joy. And since everything has a raison d'être in life (apart from maybe the andouillettes and harem pants), we wanted to go back in history to find out more about the origin of the cushion and its symbolism. Some of you might be lost along the way, but the real ones will stay.

Read more.

The throw: the friend of all couples?

Laugh, laugh. But in the meantime you continue to underestimate the power of the throw on life, your life. This object of pleasure left in the closet for too long is, in fact, far more essential to your happiness than it seems. Yes. And while we have often praised its benefits for individual use here, we never took the time to talk to you about the importance of having a blanket when you're a couple. True subject. Read more.

5 original ways to use a shawl

For decades, the shawl has had an outdated, almost old-fashioned image. An iconic piece propelled into oblivion referring it to the role of an anti-cold ally that covered the shoulders of our elders by the fireside. It is without question that La Maison de la Maille reinvents the classics and, proud to perpetuate French know-how, craftsmanship and elegance, it launches its little black shawl. A timeless creation which, beyond its luxurious composition in Merino wool yarn and its intense black, gives the shawl a resolutely modern dimension. News of the day? There are different ways to use it, wear it, and you probably never even thought about it. Read more

Deco: the 10 essentials to have

As in fashion (if you're good, you can also have the list later), decor has a few timeless pieces that promise our interior to look great. Without breaking up the housing savings plan to play the decorista hoping to see her name in big letters in MILK Magazine, there are 10 decor essentials that are enough to seem like you know. Read more

The history of the shawl

Larger than a scarf whose mission is primarily to keep your neck and neckline warm, the shawl (which is a large square piece of fabric), was invented several centuries ago and its history is much richer than you could imagine. Its birth in antiquity, its various origins, its symbols, its peculiarities... Read more

How to wash my wool blanket?

It has happened to all of us at least once. That painful moment when you realize that in the pile of laundry that you hastily threw in the machine (before launching a synthetic program) there was a cashmere sweater. And that at the end of the wash/spin at 1200 turns, this sweater looks like a chihuahua sweater. As we at La Maison de la Maille want to do everything possible to ensure that our creations do not suffer this sad fate one day, we have decided to give you here the keys to maintain your plaid.

Read more

These 10 things you didn't know about alpacas

Where is he from ? What is he doing ? How is his fleece? Is he nice, clean and sociable? We have closely studied the different characteristics of the alpaca in order to tell you a little more about this animal species still relatively unknown in Europe. Since its fiber is widely used in the manufacture of our La Maison de la Maille products, it seemed essential to us to highlight the 10 most important (and no doubt surprising) traits of its personality.

Read more

Gaëlle CONSTANTINI, friend of La Maison

In 2010, when Gaëlle Constantini made the bet to create her own brand of women's ready-to-wear under the prism of eco-responsibility, the universe of ethical clothing still had the label of a niche sector and was more praised by green activists than by the fashion sphere. Read more

Harper's Bazaar talks about La Maison de la Maille

The September 2019 issue of the Harper's Bazaar Magazine (Spanish version) is a special Green issue, dedicated to durable fashion and luxury. 

Read more

The upcycled luxury cushions

To avoid waste as much as possible, La Maison de la Maille presents its latest innovation: a line of upcycled cushions. They are beautiful, they are comfortable, they are eco-friendly and will be a real plus in your decor.

Read more.

Fashion: the 10 essentials to have

You would have to have gone to a fashion school, worked in the fabric industry or even be a couturier to know and understand the different types of knits that exist and why some are preferred over others. Sand stitch, moss stitch, mesh, weaving, warp and weft, all these technical terms are the everyday life of houses like ours. We enlighten you here on the many things to know in order to feed your curiosity on the subject. For the sake of transparency always, and sharing.

Read more.

All about recycled wool

In the wonderful world of wool, there are many different categories. La Maison de la Maille works with Baby Alpaca wool, Merino wool and eco-designed wool. We will focus on this last one today, a recycled material that has many advantages and that is part of the ethical dynamic that La Maison de la Maille is keen to represent.

Read more

Uses of throws that you might not have thought of planet

If the primary function of a throw is first to accompany us during our winter evenings in front of the TV or by the fireside, it turns out that it is not as single-tasked as it seems. Its uses may be more varied than you think. As a decorative object at home, when traveling, in the summer or slipped into the diaper bag ... We tell you everything.

Read more

The words written on the throws

It's me, Laura.

I’m the little mouse that has been hiding behind all the articles you see on the site since August 2020. I’m telling you about the Alpacas, their moods and the different types of knitting. I’m informing you… 

Read more

How can you tell if a brand is cruelty-free?

Protection of animals seems -at last- to have become an essential component of the major trend towards brand adopting ethical stances. To certify that no action involving animals of any kind is carried out during the manufacturing process for a product, brands that comply with the stipulated requirements are awarded the "cruelty-free" label. 

Read more

A promise to preserve nature

La Maison de la Maille met the American artist Rachel Marks during the presentation of her work “Esohpromatém” created for the ecological action summit “Change Now” at the Grand Palais in Paris. Read more

15 ways to wear a blanket

Discover in pictures 15 ways to wear and use a wool throw.

See more

All about moths

There are two types of moths, those that prey on food (white, gray) and those that prefer clothes (brown, gold). FoodistasVS Fashionistas, the eternal struggle. There is certainly a whole lot of exciting information to say about food moths, but since we are talking about wool at La Maison de la Maille, we will first focus on the second category. Who are they? What are they doing? Why? And how to get rid of them. We tell you everything. 

Read more.

What are the different types of knitwear?

You would have to have gone to a fashion school, worked in the fabric industry or even be a couturier to know and understand the different types of knits that exist and why some are preferred over others. Sand stitch, moss stitch, mesh, weaving, warp and weft, all these technical terms are the everyday life of houses like ours. We enlighten you here on the many things to know in order to feed your curiosity on the subject. For the sake of transparency always, and sharing.

Read more.

What is a sustainable brand?

Sustainable. It is a bit of the buzzword of the moment, the one that many brands use and abuse, one that looks good next to the name, one that attests to a certain ethic, especially ecological. Everything related to the good care of the planet is on the rise and it has become more than urgent for brands today to review their habits to minimize their environmental impact. Sustainable, Responsible, okay, but what does that mean? And who really is?

Read more

10 simple actions to protect the planet

There are some fights that shouldn't exist. Yet, even today, it remains essential to say and repeat that your daily actions in the long term can really make a difference from an environmental point of view. Global warming is here, its many fires around the world and its heat waves four months out of the year continue to remind us of this.

Read more

10 good reasons to buy a plaid from La Maison de la Maille

We cannot say it enough; treating yourself to (or offering) a La Maison de la Maille blanket can only be a good idea. Considered to be a truly prestigious piece, its high-end positioning is immediately apparent, from the moment you have the happiness of having it on your shoulders. High quality, soft, practical, timeless… Here are 10 good reasons to be tempted to purchase a La Maison de la Maille throw.

Read more

Why do we get cold?

For many of us, it only takes a very slight drop in temperature to induce chills and the irresistible urge to snuggle up in a blanket. But why? Why do we get cold? Why does everyone react in different ways to cold? We give you an explanation.

Read more.

Your Summer ally

There are pieces which, because customs have dictated it, suffer from being stored in boxes. The cap in summer, boots in winter, the raincoat in the rain. The blanket unfortunately does not escape this arbitration. A cozy friend for winter evenings, it has always been equated with thermal comfort (with its friend the slippers) while it has many other qualities. Especially in summer. See why

“Hygge” : How to adopt the Danish lifestyle at home

Even if you are not familiar with the word "Hygge", you may have heard about this super hype trend. Creating a cosy home decor, taking time for yourself, treasuring moments with your intimate circle, cooking food that you like... If you are already practicing any of those, you might already be on your way to living a "Hygge" life. 

Read more

From the Highlands to Instagram, the blanket, an accessory with an history

It dresses up our sofa, folds into our luggages and can be worn all year long wrapped around our shoulders. La Maison de la Maille focuses on the little-known origins of the blanket. Read more

Accueil > Éditorial 

Le Journal de la Maison

Le coussin : ce que vous ignorez de lui

On vous a annoncé la nouvelle récemment, La Maison de la Maille développe son offre en proposant désormais des coussins assortis aux plaids. Joie immense. Et comme tout a une raison d’être dans la vie (à part peut-être les andouillettes et les sarouels), nous avons voulu remonter l’histoire pour en savoir davantage sur l’origine du coussin et ses symboliques. On en perdra peut-être certains d’entre vous en cours de route, mais les vrais resteront.

Lire la suite.

Le plaid : et si c'était l'ami des couples ?

Riez, riez. Mais en attendant vous continuez de sous-estimer les pouvoirs du plaid sur la vie, votre vie. Cet objet de plaisir trop longtemps laissé au placard est en fait bien plus essentiel à votre bonheur qu’il n’y parait. Oui. Et si on a souvent vanté ici ses bienfaits pour une utilisation individuelle, on n’a jamais pris le temps de vous parler de l’importance d’avoir un plaid quand on est en couple. Vrai sujet. Lire la suite.

5 façons originales d'utiliser le châle

Depuis des décennies, il colle à la peau du châle comme une image désuète, presque vieillotte.De celle qui propulse une pièce iconique dans l’oubli.La reléguant au rôle d’allié anti-froid qui couvrait les épaules de nos anciens au coin du feu.Pas question pour La Maison de la Maille d’enterrer les classiques et, fière de perpétuer le savoir-faire, l’artisanat et l’élégance à la française, elle lance son petit châle noir. Une création intemporelle, qui, au-delà de sa composition luxueuse en fil de laine Mérinos et de son noir intense, offre au châle une dimension résolument moderne.L’info du jour? Il existe différentes façons de l’utiliser, de le porter, et vous n’y avez même certainement jamais pensé. Lire la suite

Top 10 des intemporels

déco à avoir

Comme dans la mode (si vous êtes sages, vous aurez la liste aussi), la déco compte quelques intemporels qui promettent à notre intérieur d’avoir fière allure. Sans pour autant éventrer le plan épargne logement pour se la jouer décorista en espérant voir son nom en grosses lettres noires dans le MILK Magazine, il existe10 indispensables déco qui suffisent pour avoir l’air de s’y connaitre. Un plaid, une lampe de designer, un vase, un miroir trumeau... Voici les pièces à s’offrir rapido pour être un as de la déco. 

Lire la suite

L'histoire du châle

Plus grand qu’une écharpe et qu’un foulard dont la mission est d’abord de tenir chaud au cou et au décolleté, le châle (qui est une grande pièce d’étoffe rectangulaire) a été inventé il y a plusieurs siècles déjà et son histoire est bien plus riche qu’on ne pourrait l’imaginer. Sa naissance dans l’antiquité, ses diverses origines, ses symboles, ses particularités... Lire la suite

Comment entretenir un plaid ?

Ça nous est à tous arrivé au moins une fois. Ce moment douloureux où on réalise que dans le tas de linge que l’on a rapidement jeté dans la machine, il y avait un pull en cachemire. Et qu’à la fin du lavage/essorage à 1200 tours, ce pull ressemble à un chandail pour chihuahua. Comme nous voulons tout mettre en œuvre pour que nos créations ne subissent pas un jour ce triste sort, nous avons décidé de vous donner ici les clefs pour entretenir votre plaid. Lire nos conseils

Ces 10 choses que vous ne savez pas sur les alpagas

D’où vient-il ? Que fait-il ? Comment est sa toison ? Est-il gentil, propre et sociable ? Nous avons étudié de près les différentes caractéristiques de l’alpaga afin de vous en dire un peu plus sur cette espèce animale encore assez peu connue en Europe. Sa fibre étant très utilisée dans la fabrication de nos produits La Maison de la Maille, il nous semblait essentiel de mettre en lumière les 10 traits les plus importants (et surprenants sans doute) de sa personnalité.

Lire la suite

Gaëlle CONSTANTINI, amie de la Maison

Quand en 2010 Gaëlle Constantini a fait le pari de créer sa propre marque de prêt-à-porter féminin sous le prisme de l’écoresponsabilité, l’univers du vêtement éthique avait encore l’étiquette de secteur niche et était davantage encensé par les militants écolos que par la sphère branchée.

Lire la suite

Harper's Bazaar parle de La Maison de la Maille

La dernière édition du magazine de mode Harper's Bazaar (version espagnole) est un numéro "Green Issue", consacré à la mode et au luxe durable.

La Maison de la Maille figure en bonne place au coeur de ce numéro, soulignant notre engagement pour la planète.

Lire la suite

Des coussins upcyclés de luxe

Pour éviter au maximum le gaspillage, La Maison de la Maille présente sa dernière nouveauté : une ligne de coussins upcyclés. Ils sont beaux, ils sont confortables, ils sont écolos et seront un vrai plus dans votre déco. Ça rime. 
On vous en dit plus dans cet article.

Lire la suite.

Mode : les 10 indispensables à avoir

On vous l’avait promis, la voici: la liste des 10 intemporels mode à avoir dans son dressing pour traverser les années et les saisons avec style. Important. Parce que, comme en déco, il existe aussi en mode des pièces qui vous garantissent un minimum de bon goût. Une belle chemise blanche, un blouson en cuir, un châle, un blazer... 

Lire la suite

Tout savoir sur la laine recyclée

Dans le monde merveilleux des lainages, il existe différentes catégories de laine. La Maison de la Maille travaille avec de la laine Baby Alpaga, de la laine Mérinos et de la laine éco-conçue.C’est sur cette dernière citée que nous ferons le focus aujourd’hui, une matière recyclée qui a bien des avantages et qui s’inscrit dans la dynamique éthique que La Maison de la Maille est désireuse de représenter...

Lire la suite

Ces utilisations du plaid auxquelles on n'avait pas pensé

Si la fonction première d’un plaid est d’abord de nous accompagner pendant nos soirées d’hiver devant la télé ou au coin d’un feu, il se trouve qu’il n’est pas aussi monotache qu’il n’y parait et ses utilisations peuvent être plus variées qu’on ne le pense. En objet de déco à la maison, en voyage, l’été ou glissé dans le sac à langer… On vous dit tout. Lire la suite

Les mots de la maille

C’est moi, Laura.

C’est moi la petite plume (grande ? roh, arrêtez ça me gêne) qui se cache derrière tous les articles que vous pouvez voir sur le site depuis le mois d’août 2020. C’est moi qui vous parle des alpagas, de leurs humeurs, des différents types de tricot. C’est moi qui… Lire la suite

Comment savoir si une marque est "Cruelty-free" ?

Chez beaucoup de marques, la protection des animaux semble aujourd’hui être devenue - enfin - une notion incontournable. Afin de certifier qu’aucune action impliquant un risque de souffrance animale n’est menée durant le processus de fabrication du produit, la mention « Cruelty-Free » est délivrée aux marques qui respectent les consignes en vigueur.

Lire la suite

Une promesse pour préserver la nature

La Maison de la Maille a rencontré l'artiste américaine Rachel Marks à l'occasion de la présentation de son oeuvre « Esohpromatém » créée pour le sommet d'action écologique "Change Now" au Grand Palais à Paris. Lire la suite

15 façons de porter une couverture

Découvrez en image 15 façons de porter et d'utiliser une couverture.

Voir les photos

Tout savoir sur les mites

Il y a deux types de mites, celles qui s’en prennent aux aliments (blanches, grises) et les autres, celles qui préfèrent les vêtements (brunes, dorées). Foodistas VS Fashionistas, l’éternel combat. Il y a certainement tout un tas d’informations passionnantes à dire sur les mites alimentaires mais vu que nous parlons lainages chez La Maison de la Maille, on va d’abord se focaliser sur la seconde catégorie. Qui elles sont ? Que font-elles ? Pourquoi ? Et comment s’en débarrasser. Lire la suite.

Quels sont les différents types de tricots ?

Il faudrait avoir fait une école de mode, travaillé dans l’industrie du tissu ou encore être couturier.e pour connaitre et comprendre les différents types de tricots qui existent et pour quelles raisons certains sont préférés à d’autres.Point de sable, point de riz, maille, tissage, chaine et trame, tous ces termes techniques sont le quotidien des maisons comme la nôtre. Nous vous éclairons ici sur les nombreuses choses à connaitre afin de nourrir votre curiosité sur le sujet.Dans un souci de transparence, always, et de partage. Lire la suite

Une marque responsable, c'est quoi ?

Responsable. C’est un peu le mot du moment, celui dont usent et abusent beaucoup de marques, celui qui fait bien à côté du nom, celui qui atteste d’une certaine éthique, écologique notamment. Parce que tout ce qui touche au bon soin de la planète a le vent en poupe et qu’il est devenu plus qu’urgent pour les marques aujourd’hui de revoir leurs habitudes pour minimiser leur impact environnemental. Responsable, d’accord, mais ça veut dire quoi ? Et qui l’est vraiment ? Lire la suite

10 actions simples pour protéger la planète

Il y a certains combats quine devraient même plus en être. Pourtant, aujourd’hui encore, il reste essentiel de dire et répéter que certains gestes du quotidien peuvent, sur le long terme, réellement changer la donne d’un point de vue environnemental. Le réchauffement climatique est là, ses nombreux incendies à travers le monde et ses canicules quatre mois dans l’année continuent de nous le rappeler. Prendre le vélo, réduire sa consommation d’énergie, dire stop au plastique... Voici 10 actions simples à mettre en œuvre pour protéger la planète... Lire la suite

10 bonnes raisons d'acheter un plaid de La Maison de la Maille

Nous ne vous le dirons jamais assez ; s’offrir (ou offrir) un plaid La Maison de la Maille ne peut être qu’une bonne idée. Son positionnement haut de gamme se révèle dès le moment où avez le bonheur de l’avoir sur les épaules. Doux, pratique, intemporel… Les bonnes raisons de se laisser tenter sont nombreuses, on vous en liste 10 qui devraient vous convaincre définitivement. Lire la suite

Pourquoi avons-nous froid ?

Pourquoi avons-nous froid ? Quelles sont les raisons scientifiques, rationnelles, qui justifient cette sensation que nous connaissons tous ? Tous mais certains plus que d’autres... Lire la suite

Le plaid, allié de l'été

Il y a des pièces qui, parce que les coutumes l’ont voulu, souffrent d’être rangées dans des cases. La casquette en été, les bottes en hiver, l’imper sous la pluie. Le plaid n’échappe malheureusement pas à cet arbitrage. Ami douillet des soirées d’hiver, il est assimilé depuis toujours au confort thermique alors qu’il a bien d’autres qualités. Surtout en été. Lire la suite

“Hygge” : comment adopter le concept danois chez soi

Envie d’adopter le mode de vie confortable des Danois ? Décoration, alimentation, lifestyle : découvrez tous nos conseils pour vivre “Hygge” ! Lire la suite

Des Highlands à Instagram, la couverture, accessoire chargé d’Histoire

Elle habille notre canapé, se plie dans nos valises et se porte toute l’année sur nos épaules. La Maison de la Maille fait le point sur les origines méconnues de la couverture. Lire la suite