Home > Editorial > You are here > Le Plaid Merveilleux, the throw of your dreams

LE PLAID MERVEILLEUX,
THE THROW OF YOUR DREAMS

Rather than the Marvelous Throw, we could have called it The Impossible Throw.

This project has been an enormous achievement and is the realization of major ecological, ethical, and human ambitions. Le Plaid Merveilleux is an absolutely wonderful throw that is the culmination of all our know-how in the production of responsible luxury products. The new collection from La Maison de la Maille sets the highest standards for local production, traceability, and above all, exceptional quality. Le Plaid Merveilleux has quickly become the must-have, eco-friendly, luxury accessory. It is certainly marvelous – and much more besides.

Let’s find out more.

leplaidmerveilleux-etiquette-matiere_edited.jpg

EXCEPTIONAL, MARVELOUS

 

These are our company watchwords.

After two years of tireless work and extensive research, La Maison de la Maille has created Le Plaid Merveilleux – unique, handcrafted, natural, made in France – this sublime throw exemplifies everything that is good about our enterprise. 

 

The original concept? Well, we wanted to create an exceptional product in a small run (just 50 pieces in the first year), with complete traceability. That means a single throw from a single fleece. For such an important project, La Maison de la Maille has selected the very best French alpaca breeders and established a completely new sector in France: the high-quality alpaca wool sector.

After an alpaca is sheared and the wool is carefully sorted, the fleece weighs up to 1.5 kg, enough to make a marvelous throw. Le Plaid Merveilleux, in fact.​

“As each fleece is different from one alpaca to the next, each piece is unique. A throw may be larger or smaller, the shade lighter or darker, and each throw has its unique texture depending on the alpaca. As with humans, it’s the genetics that matters,” explains Charlotte, founder of La Maison de la Maille.​

​So this was our innovative, inspirational idea: one throw from one alpaca.

LUXE ET NATURE

 

Our partnerships for this project include an expert Breton spinning mill and a brand-new knitting studio that already works with the most prestigious luxury brands such as Hermès and Chanel. The result is that La Maison de la Maille is now, more than ever, a key player in the luxury craft sector.

But what shines through with Le Plaid Merveilleux is its natural ethos.

La Maison de la Maille keeps everything local too, using French alpaca farms and spinning facilities, taking full advantage of local skills. But the approach does not stop there.

We are proud of our relationships with the different actors in the manufacturing process of our exquisite alpaca wool throws, relationships that are based on sharing and trust. We only select farms renowned for the very high quality of their wool, shorn from animals reared in the heart of the countryside. 

Completely natural, Le Plaid Merveilleux is not subjected to chemical processes during its creation. No treatments, no dyes, just a soft soap wash. Be assured that the fibers retain their natural qualities, from shearing right through until our marvelous throw enhances your sofa.

Le Plaid Merveilleux boasts a knit with a totally unique texture. We have developed a knitting technique and product that allows us to capitalize on the superb qualities of alpaca wool. The result is absolutely beautiful, the knit is a little more open, with coloring that is faithful to the original alpaca and a natural thickness that gives it a soft and irresistibly comfortable feel.”

ADOPT AN ALPACA

 

But it stays on the farm!

Once again, La Maison de la Maille offers something revolutionary: choose your alpaca and follow the whole process through to the finished product. We show you exactly how your alpaca is raised and looked after on the farm and give you a wonderful insight into the exceptional, unique character of your throw. Every alpaca has a name and its fleece is identified and kept separate so that a single fleece produces a single throw. Sweet.​

Undyed and untreated, each throw conveys the original color of your chosen alpaca and the texture of its fleece.

FEMALE ENTREPRENEURSHIP

 

Because there is no success story without women, behind le Plaid Merveilleux is a 100% female team (well, there is FX – but he is so feminist that we like to count him as a woman). Whether it is rearing the alpacas, spinning the wool or the bustle of the knitting workshop, women are at the heart of this project. And that explains the refinement and prestige of the product.

Written by Laura Isaaz

Discover more products: 

lamaisondelamaille-leplaidmerveilleux-al
Couverture picnic.jpg

To avoid waste as much as possible, La Maison de la Maille presents its latest innovation: a line of upcycled cushions. They are beautiful, they are comfortable, they are eco-friendly and will be a real plus in your decor.

Read more.

Alpaga.jpg

Where is he from ? What is he doing ? How is his fleece? Is he nice, clean and sociable? We have closely studied the different characteristics of the alpaca in order to tell you a little more about this animal species still relatively unknown in Europe. Since its fiber is widely used in the manufacture of our La Maison de la Maille products, it seemed essential to us to highlight the 10 most important (and no doubt surprising) traits of its personality.

Read more

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici > Le Plaid Merveilleux, la nouveauté que vous attendiez 

LE PLAID MERVEILLEUX,
LA NOUVEAUTÉ QUE VOUS ATTENDIEZ

Nous aurions pu l’appeler Le Plaid Impossible.

Sa production relève d’un tour de force et reflète l’accomplissement d’une ambition écologique, éthique et humaine. Le résultat : un Plaid  Merveilleux, absolument merveilleux, quintessence des savoir-faire de notre luxe responsable. Avec cette nouvelle collection, La Maison de la Maille définit un nouveau record en termes de production locale, de traçabilité… et surtout de produit d’exception. Le Plaid Merveilleux s’impose en douceur comme l’indispensable déco luxe et écolo. Merveilleux et bien plus encore.

On vous dit tout.

L’EXCEPTIONNEL, LE MERVEILLEUX

 

C’est bel et bien le mot d’ordre de la maison. 

Après deux années de travail et de recherches à tous les échelons, La Maison de la Maille fait naître son Plaid Merveilleux. Sublime, naturel, made in France, unique, artisanal… De quoi propulser ce véritable bijou au statut de porte-drapeau du prestige de la maison. 

 

L’idée ? Créer un produit d’exception en petite série (une cinquantaine de pièces la première année) et avoir une traçabilité absolue en fabriquant un plaid à partir d’une seule toison. Pour mener à bien ce projet de taille, La Maison de la Maille a sélectionné des élevages français d’excellence et constitué une filière qui n’existait pas encore en France ; la filière de laine d’alpaga d’exception. 

Après la tonte d’un alpaga, le poids de la récolte de laine une fois délicatement triée,  peut aller jusqu’à 1,5 kg, une quantité suffisante pour la confection d’un plaid. Le Merveilleux, donc.

« La toison étant différente d’un alpaga à l’autre, chaque pièce sera unique. Le plaid plus ou moins grand, la teinte plus ou moins foncée, chaque texture sera unique. Comme chez les humains, c’est la génétique qui parle. » Explique Charlotte, fondatrice de la maison.

De quoi partir sur un concept novateur et exceptionnel ; un plaid = un alpaga.

LUXE ET NATURE

 

En s’associant sur ce projet avec une filature bretonne et un tout nouvel atelier de tricot qui travaille déjà avec les plus grandes maisons de luxe comme Hermès ou encore Chanel, La Maison de la Maille s’impose plus que jamais parmi les incontournables de l’artisanat de luxe. 

À travers le Plaid Merveilleux, c'est aussi la nature qui parle.

Avec sa filature et ses élevages en France, La Maison de la Maille privilégie le savoir-faire local mais ne s’arrête pas là. 

Liée par une relation de partage et de confiance avec les différents acteurs du processus de fabrication du plaid, la maison a volontairement sélectionné des élevages réputés pour la très grande qualité de leurs fibres, avec des animaux évidemment élevés en pleine nature. 

Ultra-naturel, le Plaid Merveilleux ne subit aucune altération chimique durant sa création. Pas de traitement, pas de teinture et un lavage au savon doux. Le gage d’une fibre qui reste totalement naturelle jusqu’à son arrivée sur votre canapé.

« Le Plaid Merveilleux est fait à partir d’une maille dont la texture est vraiment unique. Nous avons développé un produit et une technique de tricot qui permet de sublimer la fibre de l’alpaga. Le résultat est absolument magnifique, la maille est légèrement ajourée, dans une nuance fidèle à celle de l’alpaga d’origine et avec une épaisseur naturelle qui lui donne un aspect moelleux irrésistiblement confortable ». 

ADOPTE UN ALPAGA

 

Pour de faux hein. 

Là encore, La Maison de la Maille propose quelque chose d’audacieux : choisir son alpaga et suivre tout le processus jusqu’au produit fini. L’occasion pour le client de savoir précisément comment sont élevés et traités les alpagas au sein des élevages mais aussi de mesurer le caractère exceptionnel et singulier du plaid. Chaque animal a un nom et est identifié afin de pouvoir déterminer précisément quelle toison est à l’origine de quel plaid. Fort.

Non teintée et non traitée, chaque pièce aura donc la couleur originale de l’alpaga choisi et la texture de sa toison.

L’ENTREPRENARIAT AU FÉMININ

 

Parce qu’il n’y a pas de belle réussite sans les femmes, derrière le Plaid Merveilleux se cache une équipe 100% féminine (bon d’accord y’a FX mais en vrai il est tellement féministe qu’il compte comme une femme). Qu’il s’agisse de l’élevage, de la filature ou encore de l’atelier de maille, les femmes sont à l’honneur dans ce projet. D’où le raffinement et le prestige du produit. 

Hein quoi ? Non rien. 

Article écrit par Laura Isaaz

Produit à découvrir : 

lamaisondelamaille-leplaidmerveilleux-al
Couverture picnic.jpg

Il y a des pièces qui, parce que les coutumes l’ont voulu, souffrent d’être rangées dans des cases. La casquette en été, les bottes en hiver, l’imper sous la pluie. Le plaid n’échappe malheureusement pas à cet arbitrage. Ami douillet des soirées d’hiver, il est assimilé depuis toujours au confort thermique alors qu’il a bien d’autres qualités. Surtout en été. Lire la suite

Alpaga.jpg

Ces 10 choses que vous ne savez pas sur les alpagas

D’où vient-il ? Que fait-il ? Comment est sa toison ? Est-il gentil, propre et sociable ? Nous avons étudié de près les différentes caractéristiques de l’alpaga afin de vous en dire un peu plus sur cette espèce animale encore assez peu connue en Europe. Sa fibre étant très utilisée dans la fabrication de nos produits La Maison de la Maille, il nous semblait essentiel de mettre en lumière les 10 traits les plus importants (et surprenants sans doute) de sa personnalité. Lire la suite