Home > Editorial > You are here

The history of the shawl

The shawl is not only the fashion accessory that we put on our shoulders to look pretty in chic weddings, it was invented several centuries ago and its history is much richer than you could imagine. Its birth in antiquity, its various origins, its symbols, its peculiarities... We’ll tell you everything.

 

A SHAWL, WHAT IS IT?

 

Larger than a scarf or scarf whose mission is primarily to keep your neck and neckline warm, the shawl (which is a large rectangular piece of fabric) is really meant to cover your shoulders. Be sides, unlike the scarf, it is not only used for its anti-cold functions. It is in many cultures (especially in Asia and India) considered a garment in its own right.

 

SHAWL, WHAT DOES IT MEAN?

 

It is the Hindi, Persian language, and the word shâl which is at the origin of the shawl which became the definitive term around 1860 after having been also chal or chaale. The exact translation is not easy to find, but it is the aesthetic description of the piece. Large fabric or wool material intended to cover/hide certain areas of the body.

 

WHERE DOES IT COME FROM?

 

Here again, the origins of the shawl seem to be numerous and it is not easy to know exactly which country started the trend.It was in Antiquity that it began to be very widespread in Central and West Asia, but also in India. It would appear that the shawl had its beginnings of glory in these lands before gradually reaching Europe after the migration of Roma from Northwest India and the Iranian plateau. In Russia, Egypt, Ethiopia... The shawl as a large piece of fabric that covers the body is finally present almost everywhere in the world.

HOW IS IT WORN?

 

Today, the shawl as we imagine "us”, Westerners rocked by stylistic injunctions, is making a high-quality hype comeback. It is for this reason that La Maison de la Maille has created prestigious wool shawls with a timeless design in addition to its already existing line of shawls. They are worn on the shoulders over a dress, sweater, shirt or even a coat. They can also be rolled up to transform into an XXL scarf... Available in sober and plain colors, the La Maison de la Maille shawl is perfect to pair with any of your outfits. The extra? Ultra light, it slips into any bag to accompany you in all circumstances. If that’s not just perfect.

Discover more products: 

comment laver une couverture.jpg

It has happened to all of us at least once. That painful moment when you realize that in the pile of laundry that you hastily threw in the machine (before launching a synthetic program) there was a cashmere sweater. And that at the end of the wash/spin at 1200 turns, this sweater looks like a chihuahua sweater. As we at La Maison de la Maille want to do everything possible to ensure that our creations do not suffer this sad fate one day, we have decided to give you here the keys to maintain your plaid.

Read more

20170815_WebStyleStory_DSC08382.jpg

Protection of animals seems -at last- to have become an essential component of the major trend towards brand adopting ethical stances. To certify that no action involving animals of any kind is carried out during the manufacturing process for a product, brands that comply with the stipulated requirements are awarded the "cruelty-free" label. 

Read more

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici

L'histoire du châle

Parce qu’il n’est pas seulement l’accessoire mode que l’on pose sur nos épaules pour faire joli dans les mariages chic, le châle a été inventé il y a plusieurs siècles déjà et son histoire est bien plus riche qu’on ne pourrait l’imaginer. Sa naissance dans l’Antiquité, ses diverses origines, ses symboles, ses particularités... On vous dit tout.

 

UN CHÂLE, C’EST QUOI ?

 

Plus grand qu’une écharpe ou qu’un foulard dont la mission est d’abord de tenir chaud au cou et au décolleté, le châle (qui est une grande pièce d’étoffe rectangulaire) a vraiment pour vocation à couvrir les épaules. Il n’est d’ailleurs, contrairement à l’écharpe, pas uniquement utilisé pour ses fonctions anti froids. Il est dans beaucoup de cultures (notamment en Asie et en Inde) considérées comme un vêtement à part entier.

CHÂLE, ÇA VEUT DIRE QUOI ?

 

C’est l’hindi, langue persane, et le mot "shâl" qui sont à l’origine de châle devenu le terme définitif vers 1860 après avoir été aussi "chal" ou encore "chaale". La traduction exacte n’est pas simple à trouver mais il s’agit de la description esthétique de la pièce. Grande étoffe de tissu ou de laine destinée à couvrir/cacher certaines zones du corps.

 

D’OÙ VIENT-IL?

 

Là encore, les origines du châle paraissent nombreuses et il n’est pas chose facile de savoir précisément quelle contrée a lancer la tendance. C’est dans l’antiquité qu’il commence à être très répandu en Asie centrale et Occidentale, mais également en Inde. Il semblerait que le châle ait connu ses débuts de gloire sur ces terres avant de progressivement gagner l’Europe après la migration des Rom d’Inde du Nord-Ouest et du plateau iranien. En Russie, en Égypte, en Éthiopie... Le châle comme grande pièce de tissu qui couvre le corps est finalement présent un peu partout dans le monde.

 

COMMENT SE PORTE-T-IL ?

 

Aujourd’hui, le châle comme nous l’imaginons «nous», Occidentaux bercés aux injonctions stylistiques, est en train de faire un retour d'hype de grande qualité. C’est pour cette raison d’ailleurs que La Maison de la Maille a créée en plus de sa ligne de plaids, des châles en laine prestigieuse et au design intemporel. On le porte sur les épaules au-dessus d’une robe, d’un pull, d’une chemise ou même d’un manteau. On le roule sur lui-même pour le transformer en écharpe XXL... Décliné dans des coloris sobres et unis, le châle La Maison de la Maille est parfait pour se marier avec n’importe laquelle de vos tenues. Le plus ? Ultra-léger, il se glisse dans le sac pour vous accompagner en toutes circonstances. Si c’est pas beau ça.

Produit à découvrir : 

Le petit châle noir

Le petit châle noir

249,00 €Prix
comment laver une couverture.jpg
20170815_WebStyleStory_DSC08382.jpg

Chez beaucoup de marques, la protection des animaux semble aujourd’hui être devenue - enfin - une notion incontournable. Afin de certifier qu’aucune action impliquant un risque de souffrance animale n’est menée durant le processus de fabrication du produit, la mention « Cruelty-Free » est délivrée aux marques qui respectent les consignes en vigueur.

Lire la suite

Suivez notre actualité :

© 2021 la maison de la maille

besoin d'aide ?

 

contactez-nous

+33 2 85 85 97 74


contact@lamaisondelamaille.com

 

La flèche (72) - paris (75)

France