Home > Editorial > You are here > All about the history of the cushion

THE CUSHION: WHAT YOU DON'T KNOW ABOUT IT

We recently announced the news that La Maison de la Maille is expanding its offer by now offering cushions to match the throws. Immense joy. And since everything has a raison d'être in life (apart from maybe the andouillettes and harem pants), we wanted to go back in history to find out more about the origin of the cushion and its symbolism. Some of you might be lost along the way, but the real ones will stay. Happy reading.

CUSHION, WHAT IT MEANS

 

Because you can never know enough about etymology, the word cushion most likely comes from the Latin coxinus, derived from coxa which means thigh. Cushion having been a term first coined to evoke cushions that are placed on chairs and benches and intended to make sitting more comfortable.

 

THE FIRST CUSHION

 

Was made of... stone. Yes. The earliest cushion-like object dates from around 7,000 BC. BC, a small lease, and was in stone at the time. It was geolocated in ancient Mesopotamia (go, everyone on Google), it had a rectangular shape and was used for what we know to elevate the heads (of rich people) to avoid the intrusion of crawling insects in their orifices. Nice. Not super comfortable, especially since in real life, if an insect wants to enter the mouth, ears or nose, a stone cushion will not prevent it. But OK.

 

THE CUSHION ALL AROUND THE WORLD

 

Depending on the country and culture, the use and aesthetics of the cushion differ. For example, in Asia, the cushion was a sacred object imagined in materials such as porcelain, bronze, wood, bamboo and was covered in paintings of figures, animals or plants. The cushion had a spiritual and almost medical function, it was seen as an ideal ally to relieve pain, cure certain illnesses and boost brain faculties.

 

In Japan, among the Geishas, the purpose of the cushion was to keep the head above the ground and therefore to prevent hair from tangling, the role of the cushion then became purely aesthetic.

 

In Egypt, the spiritual virtues of the cushion take precedence over everything else, and its use is religious. Created in marble, ivory, stone or wood, Egyptian cushions were carved with divine figures and placed under the heads of the deceased to ward off evil spirits.

 

It was in antiquity, among the Greeks and Romans, that the first "comfortable" cushions appeared. Made from cotton, feathers, reeds or straw, they were meant to make sleeping and sitting more pleasant.

 

THE CUSHION TODAY

 

While the use and shapes of the cushion have greatly evolved through the ages, today its primary role is to beautify interiors and provide comfort. Good news, more than 2000 years after the mineral/whiplash version, it is in France, in the premises of La Maison de la Maille, that the first upcycled luxury cushions are appearing. It's about not stopping progress.

Discover more products: 

UPCYCLED CUSHION - CORAL

UPCYCLED CUSHION - CORAL

€79.00Price
lamaisondelamaille.coussin.merinos.camel

To avoid waste as much as possible, La Maison de la Maille presents its latest innovation: a line of upcycled cushions. They are beautiful, they are comfortable, they are eco-friendly and will be a real plus in your decor.

Read more.

Alpaga.jpg

Where is he from ? What is he doing ? How is his fleece? Is he nice, clean and sociable? We have closely studied the different characteristics of the alpaca in order to tell you a little more about this animal species still relatively unknown in Europe. Since its fiber is widely used in the manufacture of our La Maison de la Maille products, it seemed essential to us to highlight the 10 most important (and no doubt surprising) traits of its personality.

Read more

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici > Tout savoir sur l'histoire du coussin

Le coussin : ce que vous ignorez de lui

On vous a annoncé la nouvelle récemment, La Maison de la Maille développe son offre en proposant désormais des coussins assortis aux plaids. Joie immense. Et comme tout a une raison d’être dans la vie (à part peut-être les andouillettes et les sarouels), nous avons voulu remonter l’histoire pour en savoir davantage sur l’origine du coussin et ses symboliques. On en perdra peut-être certains d’entre vous en cours de route, mais les vrais resteront. Bonne lecture.

Coussins en laine.png

COUSSIN QUI VEUT DIRE

 

Parce qu’on n’en sait jamais assez sur l’étymologie, le mot coussin vient très vraisemblablement du latin coxinus, dérivé de coxa qui signifie cuisse. Coussin ayant été un terme inventé d’abord pour évoquer les coussins, posés sur les chaises et les bancs, destinés à rendre l’assise plus confortable.

 

LE PREMIER COUSSIN

 

Était en... pierre. Yes. Le premier objet qui s’apparente à un coussin date d’environ 7000 ans av.

J.-C., un petit bail, et était à l’époque en pierre. Il a été géolocalisé en ancienne Mésopotamie (allez, tous sur Google), il avait une forme rectangulaire et servait d’après ce qu’on en sait à surélever la tête (des gens riches) pour éviter l’intrusion d’insectes rampants dans leurs orifices. Nice. Pas hyper confort, surtout qu’en vrai, un insecte s’il veut entrer dans la bouche, les oreilles ou dans le nez ce n’est pas un coussin en pierre qui va l’en empêcher. Mais bon.

 

LE COUSSIN ALL AROUND THE WORLD

 

En fonction des pays et des cultures, l’usage et l’esthétisme du coussin diffèrent. Par exemple, en Asie, le coussin était un objet sacré imaginé dans des matériaux comme la porcelaine, le bronze, le bois, le bambou et était recouvert de peintures de personnages, d’animaux ou de végétaux. Le coussin avait une fonction spirituelle et presque médicale, il était vu comme un allié idéal pour soulager les douleurs, guérir de certaines maladies et rebooster les facultés cérébrales.

 

Au Japon, chez les Geishas, le coussin avait pour but de maintenir la tête au-dessus du sol et donc d’éviter que les cheveux s’emmêlent entre eux, le rôle du coussin devenait alors purement esthétique.

 

En Égypte, les vertus spirituelles du coussin priment sur tout le reste et son utilisation est religieuse. Créé en marbre, en ivoire, en pierre ou en bois, les coussins égyptiens étaient sculptés avec des figures divines et placés sous la tête des défunts pour éloigner les mauvais esprits.

 

C’est en antiquité, chez les grecs et les romains, que les premiers coussins «confortables» font leur apparition. Fabriqués à partir de coton, de plumes, de roseaux ou de paille, ils étaient destinés à rendre le sommeil et l’assise plus agréable.

 

LE COUSSIN D’AUJOURD’HUI

 

Si l’utilisation et les formes du coussin ont largement évolué à travers les époques, aujourd’hui son rôle premier est d’embellir les intérieurs et d’apporter du confort. Bonne nouvelle, plus de 2000 ans après la version minérale/coup du lapin, c'est en France, dans les locaux de La Maison de la Maille, que les premiers coussins de luxe upcylés font leur apparition. C’est qu’on n’arrête pas le progrès.

Produit à découvrir : 

lamaisondelamaille.coussin.merinos.camel

Pour éviter au maximum le gaspillage, La Maison de la Maille présente sa dernière nouveauté : une ligne de coussins upcyclés. Ils sont beaux, ils sont confortables, ils sont écolos et seront un vrai plus dans votre déco. Ça rime. 
On vous en dit plus dans cet article.

Lire la suite.

Alpaga.jpg

Ces 10 choses que vous ne savez pas sur les alpagas

D’où vient-il ? Que fait-il ? Comment est sa toison ? Est-il gentil, propre et sociable ? Nous avons étudié de près les différentes caractéristiques de l’alpaga afin de vous en dire un peu plus sur cette espèce animale encore assez peu connue en Europe. Sa fibre étant très utilisée dans la fabrication de nos produits La Maison de la Maille, il nous semblait essentiel de mettre en lumière les 10 traits les plus importants (et surprenants sans doute) de sa personnalité. Lire la suite