Home > Editorial > You are here

EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT ALPACAS

Where is he from? What is he doing? How is his fleece? Is he nice, clean and sociable? We have closely studied the different characteristics of the alpaca in order to tell you a little more about this animal species still relatively unknown in Europe. Since its fiber is widely used in the manufacture of our La Maison de la Maille products, it seemed essential to us to highlight the 10 most important (and no doubt surprising) traits of its personality. Focus.

THE ALPACA IS A CAMELID

For many of us, when we say wool, we think bovid (family of sheep). A misconception that one twists his arm with the following information: the alpaca is a mammal from the camelid family. At its side we find species such as the lama, the dromedary, the camel or the vicuña. To be even more precise, the alpaca is a small camelid and comes from South America, while the large camelids (camels and dromedaries) live mainly in Africa and Asia.

THE SPIT ALPACA

Like its cousin the llama, the alpaca can show its annoyance by spitting. An after all effective and unusual way to ward off the enemy but which, contrary to legend, rarely manifests against humans. If this is the case however, the individual may not have been able to identify the signs of annoyance beforehand. It is above all a means of defense used between alpacas, in conflict situations but also when the female wants to indicate to the male that she is pregnant and that he must distance himself.

THERE ARE TWO CATEGORIES OF ALPACAS

Among alpacas, there are two different types of fibers. The Huacayas have dense, shiny and curly fleece. It grows vertically to the animal's skin. The Suris, on the other hand, have a silky fleece, droopy and stiff but recognizable by their shape that resembles dreadlocks.

22 IS THE NUMBER OF DIFFERENT DRESSES IN THE ALPACAS

Pretty panoply. Indeed, while there are two categories of alpacas, it has been noted that 22 natural shades exist in total for their fleece. A rich panel that ranges from black, to white, through more nuanced colors such as beige, brown, red or gray. Enough to vary the pleasures and offer a wide variety of weavings.

THE ALPACA IS CLEAN

Believe it or not, the alpaca chooses the places it goes to defecate and goes there systematically when needed. A reflex that allows us to preserve maintained grounds and which also attests of the great intelligence of the species. In addition, their manure is composted in just a month and can be easily reused in gardens.

ALPACA FARMING IS GREENER THAN OTHERS

Among all the qualities of the alpaca, its breeding is not considered harmful to the environment. Known to have a very small appetite (one bale of hay is enough to feed two alpacas per week), it is also known not to deteriorate pastures by pulling up grasses as it simply cuts them with its teeth. Also, as mentioned above, alpaca manure is recognized as being an extremely effective fertilizer.

THE ALPACA IS SOCIABLE

The alpaca does not like solitude. Its development and well-being are essentially based on its place in the herd and on community habits. They cannot be bred alone, it is imperative that a minimum of three alpacas constitute breeding. The whole life of alpacas is punctuated by their hierarchical links and recognition within the group. When a baby is born, for example, all the alpacas in the herd will smell it to recognize it. With humans, the agreement is more cautious but still possible. It is important to take the time to approach them, gently, without shouting, in order to reduce their stress and be able to establish contact with the animal. Be careful, however, it is strongly recommended to avoid contact between young alpacas and humans because this sociability has its drawbacks and the alpaca can then consider humans as one of their own. This is a syndrome recognized in alpacas and llamas which can, when the male grows and becomes dominant, generate complex or even serious situations with his congeners and those he considers as such. This syndrome even has a name: Bersek LLama Syndrome.

ALPACA FARMING IS GREENER THAN OTHERS

Thanks to their common liking for quality and traceability, a nice story was born between the designer and La Maison de la Maille. Partners on several events, it was natural for the two brands to unite their universes and to communicate together on the possibility to make luxury products, without ever losing sight of today's issues; linked to the environment, but also linked to quality. With the same fervour, La Maison de la Maille joins Gaëlle in its desire to favour noble materials, to not neglect working conditions and to make every effort to respect the environment and animals as much as possible. A philosophy shared by the two brands and which should soon give birth to new and pretty projects ...

 

THE M IN THE ALPACA IS FOR MACHO

You wonder what we're talking about. While he may be a macho, which we frankly don't dare claim, the male alpaca is called macho because he is from South America and macho simply means "male." The female is called Hembra (female) and the young one, Cria (reproduction).

THE GESTATION OF A FEMALE ALPACA LASTS LONGER THAN THAT OF A HUMAN

Do you think nine months is a long time? Tell yourself it could be worse. In fact, the gestation period of a female alpaca is 335 days, or 11 months. Two more than a typical pregnancy in humans. And two months count.

Discover more products: 

BABY ALPACA WOOL PLAID - CREAM

BABY ALPACA WOOL PLAID - CREAM

€529.00Price
20170815_WebStyleStory_DSC08382.jpg
oEgzKkZA.jpg

Subscribe to La Maison de la Maille: 

© 2021 La maison de la maille

Need help?

 

Contact us

+33 2 85 85 97 74


contact@lamaisondelamaille.com

 

La flèche (72) - paris (75)

France

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici

CES 10 CHOSES QUE VOUS NE SAVEZ PAS SUR LES ALPAGAS 

D’où vient-il ? Que fait-il ? Comment est sa toison ? Est-il gentil, propre et sociable ? Nous avons étudié de près les différentes caractéristiques de l’alpaga afin de vous en dire un peu plus sur cette espèce animale encore assez peu connue en Europe. Sa fibre étant très utilisée dans la fabrication de nos produits La Maison de la Maille, il nous semblait essentiel de mettre en lumière les 10 traits les plus importants (et surprenants sans doute) de sa personnalité. Focus.

L’ALPAGA EST UN CAMÉLIDÉ

 

Pour beaucoup d’entre nous, qui dit laine, dit bovidé (famille des moutons). Une idée reçue à qui on tord le bras avec l’information suivante : l’alpaga est un mammifère issu de la famille des camélidés. À ses côtés on retrouve les espèces comme le lama, le dromadaire, le chameau ou encore la vigogne. Pour être encore plus précis, l’alpaga est un petit camélidé et vient d’Amérique du sud quand les grands camélidés (chameau et dromadaire), eux, vivent essentiellement en Afrique et en Asie.

 

L’ALPAGA CRACHE 

 

Comme son cousin le lama, l’alpaga peut manifester son agacement en crachant. Une manière somme toute efficace et peu banale pour éloigner l’ennemi mais qui, contrairement à la légende, se manifeste rarement contre l’humain. Si toutefois c’est le cas, il se peut que l’individu n’ait pas su identifier les signes d’agacement en amont. C’est avant tout un moyen de défense utilisé entre alpagas, dans les situations de conflit mais également lorsque la femelle veut signifier au mâle qu’elle est en gestation et qu’il doit prendre ses distances. 

 

IL EXISTE DEUX CATÉGORIES D’ALPAGAS 

 

Parmi les alpagas, il existe deux types de fibres différentes. Les Huacayas ont la toison dense, brillante et frisée. Elle pousse à la verticale par rapport à la peau de l’animal. Les Suris, eux, ont une toison soyeuse, tombante et raide mais reconnaissable par leur forme qui s’apparente à des dreadlocks. 

22, C’EST LE NOMBRE DE ROBES DIFFÉRENTES CHEZ LES ALPAGAS 

 

Jolie panoplie. En effet, s’il existe deux catégories d’alpagas, il a été noté que 22 nuances naturelles existent au total pour leur toison. Un panel riche qui s’étend du noir, au blanc, en passant par des couleurs plus nuancées comme le beige, le marron, le roux ou encore le gris. De quoi varier les plaisirs et proposer des tissages d’une large diversité. 

L’ALPAGA EST PROPRE

 

Croyez-le ou non, l’alpaga choisit les endroits où il va faire ses besoins et s’y rend systématiquement dès que c’est nécessaire. Un réflexe qui permet de conserver des terrains entretenus et qui atteste aussi, c’est toujours bien de le rappeler, de la grande intelligence de l’espèce. Par ailleurs, leur fumier se composte en seulement un mois et peut se réutiliser facilement dans les jardins. 

LES ÉLEVAGES D’ALPAGAS SONT PLUS ÉCOLOS QUE D’AUTRES 

 

Parmi toutes les qualités de l’alpaga, son élevage n’est pas considéré comme nocif pour l’environnement. Réputé pour avoir un très petit appétit (une balle de foin est suffisante pour nourrir deux alpagas par semaine), il est également connu pour ne pas détériorer les pâturages en arrachant les herbes car il se contente de les couper avec ses dents. Aussi, comme évoqué plus haut, le fumier d’alpaga est reconnu comme étant un engrais extrêmement efficace. 

L’ALPAGA EST SOCIABLE 

 

L’alpaga n’aime pas la solitude. Son épanouissement et son bien-être reposent essentiellement sur sa place dans le troupeau et les habitudes communautaires. Ils ne peuvent pas être élevés seuls, il est donc impératif qu’un minimum de trois alpagas constitue l’élevage. Toute la vie des alpagas est rythmée par leurs liens hiérarchiques et la reconnaissance au sein du groupe. Lorsqu’un bébé vient au monde, par exemple, tous les alpagas du troupeau vont le sentir pour le reconnaitre. Avec les humains, l’entente est plus frileuse mais reste envisageable. Il est important de prendre le temps pour les approcher, en douceur, sans cris, afin de faire baisser leur stress et de pouvoir établir un contact avec l’animal. Attention cependant, il est fortement recommandé d’éviter le contact entre les jeunes alpagas et les humains car cette sociabilité a ses inconvénients et l’alpaga peut ensuite considérer l’humain comme un des leurs. Il s’agit d’un syndrome reconnu chez les alpagas et les lamas qui peut, lorsque le mâle grandit et devient dominant, générer des situations complexes voire graves avec ses congénères et ceux qu’il considère comme tel. Ce syndrome a même un nom : le syndrome Bersek LLama ou syndrome du lama furieux.

LA FIBRE D’ALPAGA, UNE FIBRE D’EXCEPTION

 

Douce, soyeuse, résistante, légère, isolante, la fibre d’alpaga réunit toutes les qualités pour conférer au tissage un résultat luxueux et extrêmement recherché. Aussi douce que le cachemire, plus chaude et plus résistante que la laine, elle est aujourd’hui considérée comme la fibre idéale par de nombreuses marques. Bien que ses nuances soient nombreuses (22), il est également possible de teindre la fibre d’alpaga sans que la brillance ni la qualité de celle-ci ne soient altérées.

LE MÂLE ALPAGA EST UN MACHO 

 

Vous vous demandez bien de quoi on parle. S’il est peut-être machiste, ce que nous n’oserons prétendre, le mâle alpaga s’appelle le macho car il est originaire d’Amérique du Sud et que macho signifie tout simplement « masculin ». La femelle, elle, est appelée Hembra (femelle) et le petit, Cria (reproduction). 

LA GESTATION D’UNE FEMELLE ALPAGA DURE PLUS LONGTEMPS QUE CELLE DE L’HUMAIN

 

Vous trouvez que neuf mois c’est long ? Dites-vous que ça pourrait être pire. En effet, la durée de gestation d’une femelle alpaga est de 335 jours, soit 11 mois. Deux de plus qu’une grossesse classique chez les êtres humains. Et deux mois, ça compte.

Produit à découvrir : 

PLAID LAINE BABY ALPAGA CRÈME

PLAID LAINE BABY ALPAGA CRÈME

529,00 €Prix
20170815_WebStyleStory_DSC08382.jpg
oEgzKkZA.jpg

Suivez notre actualité :

© 2019 la maison de la maille

besoin d'aide ?

 

contactez-nous

+33 2 85 85 97 74


contact@lamaisondelamaille.com

 

La flèche (72) - paris (75)

France