Home > Editorial > You are here > Alpaca fibres, their benefits observed by Professor Fabrice Denis

alpaca fibres, their benefits observed by Professor Fabrice denis

Passionate about alpacas and friend of the House, Professor Fabrice Denis gives us some secrets on the natural virtues of the fibers of our favorite camelids, from a medical point of view.

 

cd72_0005820_orix2.jpg

Alpaca wool has been studied to define its characteristics because preliminary data suggest extremely interesting properties. 

1# The most surprising characteristic is probably its anti-bacteriological (bacteriostatic) effect. This wool seems to make it extremely difficult for bacteria to multiply. In addition to the obvious hygiene benefits, this leads to a second effect – a reduction in sweat-related odors in clothing. Sweat encourages the proliferation of these bacteria, Alpaca fiber seems to reduce this. 

2# Alpaca wool seems to be hypoallergenic, in other words causing fewer skin allergies compared to other types of wool. Lanolin, which can cause these skin reactions, is nonexistent. 

3# It is non-irritant and can therefore be worn by everyone, which is quite rare for wool.

4# The thermal properties are interesting because the data suggest that this wool retains heat between five to seven times more effectively than sheep’s wool. This means that a thickness of 2 mm would have the same heat retention effect as 10 mm-thick sheep’s wool. 

5# Alpaca wool’s breathability or permeability is interesting because heat and moisture exchanges are favorable so that — unlike a waterproof material (which keeps you warm but traps body moisture and causes additional sweating) — you stay warm without excess sweating. Thus, these air circulation properties make it possible to play sports with an Alpaca wool textile.

6# Last but not least, it is biodegradable, not very flammable, and produces little static electricity.

Article written by Professor Fabrice DENIS MD,PhD

Oncology Radiotherapy

E-health/AI Faculty of Health - University of Paris

e-PRO's task force (European Society of Medical Oncology)

Jean Bernard Inter-Regional Cancer Institute

9 rue Beauverger

72000 Le Mans

France

Discover more products: 

leplaidmerveilleux-qali.jpg

Because behind the amusing animal, with its big round eyes, long legs and fluffy fleece that really makes you want to cuddle them and explode records for the number of likes on Instagram, taking care of an alpaca requires unfailing, daily, passionate devotion. Black, red-haired, two-colored, white, grey, large, not so large, small; they are not all alike, but it is difficult to tell all 40 of them apart. And then Axelle arrives. And all you have to do is watch them live to realize that there is really no surprise because each animal has its own personality. Really, just take a look. 

leplaidmerveilleux-etiquette-matiere-blog.jpg

Le Plaid Merveilleux, the novelty you've been waiting for

Because La Maison de la Maille never stops wanting to go further in exceptional creation, the brand is launching on Sunday July 4  its novelty: the Marvelous Throw. Even more luxurious than the previous products, it stands out as the essential luxury and ecological decoration. Wonderful and much more.

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici > Les fibres d'alpagas, leurs bénéfices observés par le Professeur Fabrice Denis

les fibres d'alpagas, leurs bénéfices observés par le professeur Fabrice denis 

Passionné d'alpagas et ami de la Maison, le Professeur Fabrice Denis nous livre quelques secrets sur les vertus naturelles des fibres de nos camélidés préférés, du point de vue médical.

cd72_0005820_orix2.jpg

La laine d’Alpaga fait l’objet d’études pour en décrire les caractéristiques car des données préliminaires suggèrent des propriétés fort intéressantes.

 

1# La caractéristique la plus étonnante est probablement son effet anti-bactériologique (bactériostatique). Cette laine semble poser de grandes difficultés aux bactéries pour se multiplier. Outre l’intérêt hygiénique évident, un 2ème effet en découle, la réduction des odeurs des vêtements liées à la transpiration. Celle-ci favorise la prolifération de ces bactéries, la fibre d’Alpaga semble la réduire.

2# La laine d’Alpaga semble hypoallergénique, c’est-à-dire provoquant moins d’allergies cutanée par rapport à d’autres laine. La Lanoline qui peut provoquer ces réactions cutanées est inexistante.

3# Elle est non-irritante et peut donc être portée par tous, c’est assez rare pour une laine.

4# Les propriétés thermiques sont intéressantes car les données suggèrent que cette laine maintienne la chaleur entre 5 et 7 fois plus qu’une laine de mouton. Cela signifie que 2 mm d’épaisseur aurait le même effet de maintien de la chaleur qu’une laine de mouton de 10 mm.

5# La Respirabilité ou perméabilité de la laine d’alpaga est intéressante car les échanges thermiques et d’humidité sont favorables de sorte qu’a l’inverse d’un tissu imperméable (qui tient chaud mais provoque un confinement de l’humidité corporelle et un surcroit de transpiration), on a chaud, sans hypertranspiration. Ainsi, ces propriétés de circulation d’air permettent de faire du sport avec un vêtement en laine d’Alpaga.

6# Enfin elle est biodégradable, peu inflammable et produit peu d’électricité statique.

Article écrit par le Professeur Fabrice DENIS MD,PhD
Oncologie Radiothérapie 
E-santé/IA Faculté de Santé - Université de Paris
e-PRO's task force (European Society of Medical Oncology)
Institut Inter-Regional de Cancérologie Jean Bernard
9 rue Beauverger
72000 Le Mans
France

Produit à découvrir : 

leplaidmerveilleux-qali.jpg

Rencontrez nos alpagas ?

Parce que derrière l'animal rigolo, les gros yeux comme des billes, les longues pattes et la toison fluffy comme un appel aux câlins qui fait exploser les scores de likes sur Instagram, s'occuper d'un alpaga nécessite une dévotion sans faille, quotidienne, passionnée. Noir, roux, bicolore, blanc, gris, grand, moins grand, petit, tous ne se ressemblent pas mais il est difficile de réussir à différencier les 40. Axelle, elle, y arrive. Et il suffit de les regarder vivre pour vite comprendre que rien n'est finalement étonnant parce que chaque animal a sa propre personnalité. Vraiment, regardez.  

leplaidmerveilleux-etiquette-matiere-blog.jpg

Le Plaid Merveilleux, la nouveauté que vous attendiez

Parce que La Maison de la Maille ne s’arrête jamais de vouloir aller toujours plus loin dans la création d’exception, la marque lance le dimanche 4 juillet  sa nouveauté : le Plaid Merveilleux. Encore plus luxueux que les précédents produits, il s’impose comme l’indispensable déco luxe et écolo. Merveilleux et bien plus encore.