Home > Editorial > You are here

HOW CAN YOU TELL IF A BRAND IS "cruelty-free"?

Protection of animals seems today to have thankfully become an essential component of the major trend towards brands adopting ethical stances. To certify that no action involving animals of any kind is carried out during the manufacturing process for a product, brands that comply with the stipulated requirements are awarded the "Cruelty-free" label. Explanation.​

20170815_WebStyleStory_DSC08382.jpg

WHAT DOES "CRUELTY-FREE" ACTUALLY MEAN?

"Cruelty-Free" is a term that guarantees to the consumer that no animals have been subjected to cruel treatment in the manufacture and production of the purchased product. In legal terms, this implies several things:

 

  • That no product is tested on animals

  • That the brand's suppliers are required to prove that they do not carry out any tests or experiments on animals

  • That the brands agree to be subject to regular checks carried out by mandated organizations

 

It was in the 2000s that awareness of the issue of the use of animals, particularly in the cosmetics world, really began to become widespread. Since then, several laws have been passed prohibiting brands from endangering the lives of animals for commercial purposes. Though certain major companies continue to sell items made from animal-derived materials, such as fur for example (which involves highly criticized processes), thus becoming the target of numerous animal welfare organizations, they are nevertheless not considered to be acting outside the law.

 

CAN SOME LABELS BE TRUSTED MORE THAN OTHERS?

 

Warning. It is important to be very vigilant about the reliability and trustworthiness of labels attesting to compliance with requirements governing the proper treatment of animals. This s because—and as with all ethical-type labels—some organizations are willing to take advantage of the benefits of the accreditation without ticking all the required boxes. To avoid being misled, there are two labels in use that deserve our complete trust and confidence: Cruelty-Free from PETA and Leaping Bunny. These certify to consumers that neither the product nor its ingredients have been tested on animals and that the brand does not market its products in China. China inevitably implies tests on animals, with such tests even constituting a mandatory requirement for access to the market.

LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE AND ANIMALS


La Maison de la Maille attaches great importance to being ethically responsible and doing things as transparently as possible, and is 100% committed to proving and demonstrating that the actions it takes are environmentally friendly and that the animals with which it works are properly treated. It is also important to note that shearing alpacas is an essential part of keeping them healthy and in good condition, as it protects them from heatstroke and parasites, makes it possible to check their skin for wounds or damage, and contributes to their general comfort and well-being. In order to provide a high level of quality, and because the brand is positioned at the top-of-the-range end of the market, the products are made from wool and thus inevitably require the shearing of Merinos or alpacas. To ensure that the flocks are treated with respect, La Maison de la Maille chooses partners capable of producing a yarn matching specific quality, responsibility and traceability criteria. Furthermore, the brand undertakes, wherever possible, to visit the farms in order to verify for itself that everything is being done to ensure the welfare and well-being of the animals.

Discover more products:

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici

COMMENT SAVOIR SI UNE MARQUE EST « CRUELTY-FREE » ? 

Dans la grande mouvance des prises de position éthiques chez les marques, la protection des animaux semble aujourd’hui être devenue, bien heureusement, une notion incontournable. Afin de certifier qu’aucune action impliquant des espèces animales n’est menée durant le processus de fabrication du produit, la mention « Cruelty-Free » est délivrée aux marques qui respectent les consignes en vigueur. Explications.

20170815_WebStyleStory_DSC08382.jpg

CRUELTY-FREE, ÇA VEUT DIRE QUOI ?

 

Cruelty-Free, pouvant être littéralement traduit « sans cruauté » en français, est un terme qui garantit au consommateur que le produit acheté n’a nécessité aucune action « cruelle » sur un ou des animaux. Ce qui légalement implique plusieurs choses : 

 

  • Qu’aucun produit n’est testé sur les animaux 

  • Que les fournisseurs de la marque doivent pouvoir attester qu’ils ne pratiquent de leur côté aucune expérimentation animale 

  • Que les marques acceptent d’être soumises à des contrôles réguliers par des organismes mandatés

 

C’est au début des années 2000 que la prise de conscience au sujet de l’utilisation des animaux, notamment dans le milieu des cosmétiques, se met doucement en place. Depuis, plusieurs lois ont été votées pour interdire aux marques de mettre en péril la vie d’espèces animales à des fins commerciales. Si certaines grandes maisons continuent de vendre des pièces créées à partir de matières premières issues des animaux, comme la fourrure par exemple (qui utilise des procédés décriés), devenant la cible de nombreux organismes de protection, elles ne sont pour autant pas considérées comme hors-la-loi. 

EXISTE-T-IL DES LABELS PLUS FIABLES QUE D'AUTRES ?

Attention. Il est important de faire preuve d’une grande vigilance concernant la fiabilité des labels qui attestent du respect des consignes de bon traitement sur les animaux. Car, comme pour toutes les mentions éthiques, certains profitent du titre sans avoir coché toutes les cases. Pour ne pas se tromper, il existe deux labels qui méritent notre confiance absolue : Cruelty-Free de PETA et Leaping Bunny. Ils certifient aux consommateurs que le produit n’a pas été testé sur des animaux, les ingrédients qui le composent non plus et que la marque ne commercialise pas en Chine. La Chine impliquant forcément des tests sur les animaux, ces tests constituant même une condition incontournable pour accéder au marché. 

LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE ET LES ANIMAUX

Très concernée par les engagements éthiques et l’envie de faire les choses dans la plus grande transparence, La Maison de la Maille s’implique à 100% pour attester de ses actions écologiques mais aussi du bon traitement des animaux avec lesquels elle travaille. Il est également important de noter que la tonte des Alpagas est une étape essentielle à leur bien-être car elle permet de les protéger des coups de chaleur, des parasites, vérifier que la peau ne présente pas de lésions mais aussi participer à leur confort. Dans un souci de qualité et parce que la marque s’inscrit dans un positionnement haut de gamme, les produits sont fabriqués en laine et nécessitent, de fait, la tonte de Mérinos ou d’Alpagas. Pour s’assurer que les troupeaux sont traités dans le respect, La Maison de la Maille sélectionne des partenaires capables de produire un fil répondant aux critères de qualité, de responsabilité et de traçabilité.  Par ailleurs, la marque s'engage, lorsque cela est possible, à se rendre dans les élevages pour vérifier par elle-même que tout est mis en place pour le bien-être des animaux.

Produit à découvrir : 

PLAID LAINE MÉRINOS VERT FORÊT

PLAID LAINE MÉRINOS VERT FORÊT

449,00 €Prix
oEgzKkZA.jpg
Gaelle%20Constantini%20mode%20responsabl

Suivez notre actualité :

© 2019 la maison de la maille

besoin d'aide ?

 

contactez-nous

+33 2 85 85 97 74


contact@lamaisondelamaille.com

 

La flèche (72) - paris (75)

France