Home > Editorial > You are here > Made in France: it's never too late to buy some

MADE IN FRANCE: IT’S NEVER TOO LATE TO BUY SOME

While numerous brands are actually implementing a local production approach to offer their consumers items Made in France, others are cheeky and have no doubts about wringing the most from the designation by checking the minimum number of boxes possible to give themselves credit for an eco-design that they only go halfway to meeting. Without wanting to take all the credit, since La Maison de la Maille was created, the brand has had its heart set on ensuring that its manufacturing and production circuit is as much Made in France as possible. This approach involves all the trades, all the links in the production chain, brought together on a local level. The real Made in France, what it means, and why it’s better...

leplaidmerveilleux-shooting-toison-pirouette-pacha-panache.jpg

WHAT IS “MADE IN FRANCE"?   

As its name indicates rather well, we are talking about products that are manufactured in France.
Its lesser used French version, “Fabriqué en France”, means the same thing, and to be entitled to use this label, it is the trader’s responsibility to ensure that the product complies with the non-preferential rules of origin established by the EU customs code (CDU). Is that double Dutch? You couldn’t make it up! (just kidding). This same label is there to certify the origin of the product concerned. This idea of origin used by the customs services is different from the Guaranteed French Origin (Origine France Garantie) label that is awarded by an independent body and meets quite specific terms and conditions. Obtaining this label allows businesses that choose to do so to bring their national production to the fore. La Maison de la Maille is one of these.

BEWARE OF "MADE IN ..."

Unfortunately, money is the key. While numerous brands are actually implementing a local production approach to offer their consumers items Made in France, others are cheeky and have no doubts about wringing the most from the designation by checking the minimum number of boxes possible to give themselves credit for an eco-design that is really only halfway to being so. “Made in France” in fashion is a bit like organic foods. According to the current legislation, the product’s country of origin is deemed to be the one in which it underwent its last substantial transformation (the rules attached to this title are detailed on the official government website). Other brands are even more unscrupulous, stealing the label (an offence punishable by law, but we’re not the police, are we?) to attract customers. Which is why we emphasize the importance of you checking a brand’s manufacturing and production process in detail when you are thinking of buying Made In France. The price may also be a good indicator (although not always): if you find a Made In France woolen jumper for 40 euros, there is a very good chance that it is not really Made In France. But if it is, then give me the name, I’ve got some gifts to buy.

WHY IS IT BETTER?

It’s better for several reasons. First of all, from an ecological standpoint, Made in France means that, on the face of it, there are no long journeys made between the different service providers, leading to a carbon footprint for a simple pair of jeans that is sometimes terrifying. Secondly, in economic terms, Made in France – provided it is done seriously – requires the involvement of local labor and therefore contributes to maintaining employment in the craft industries. Traceability is also better, with consumers having much easier and more detailed access to the manufacturing process from A to Z, to know exactly what they are buying.

 

 

LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE 100% MADE IN FRANCE

Without wanting to take all the credit, since La Maison de la Maille was created, the brand has had its heart set on ensuring that its manufacturing and production circuit is as much Made in France as possible. This approach involves all the trades, all the links in the production chain, brought together on a local level. Its scrupulous choice of foreign partners – who supply the fibers – is also a mark of its commitment. La Maison de la Maille only works with carefully selected and labelled producers, certifying the full traceability of their fibers. Its most recent prestige creation, Le Plaid Merveilleux, is part of this 100% Made in France policy and a product that the house is particularly proud of.

DID YOU KNOW?

 

According to an IFOP survey from 2018, 74% of French people say they are prepared to pay more to buy a product made in France. Almost four years later, after a health crisis that has shifted the lines in the right direction (as explained in particular by Hélène Daret, Marketing Manager at Refashion, in our portrait of her) consumers’ appetite for local products is constantly on the rise. Another of the reasons for La Maison de la Maille’s continuous leaning towards deepening its ecological commitments through its creations.

 

Written by Laura Isaaz

Discover more products: 

For Christmas, birthdays, house-warming parties or just because you want to brighten someone’s day, offering gifts is a delightful tradition for all, but one which can nevertheless jeopardize a fair number of values such as ecology, anti-overconsumption, etc. Fortunately, because thinking on this subject has evolved continuously, nowadays there are numerous ways of spoiling each other while respecting the planet. A throw, a bag, a designer fashion item, a beauty care product, and more. We have selected 10 eco-friendly gift ideas for you to discover right away.  Read more

10 bonnes raisons d'acheter un plaid.jpg

We cannot say it enough; treating yourself to (or offering) a La Maison de la Maille blanket can only be a good idea. Considered to be a truly prestigious piece, its high-end positioning is immediately apparent, from the moment you have the happiness of having it on your shoulders. High quality, soft, practical, timeless… Here are 10 good reasons to be tempted to purchase a La Maison de la Maille throw.

Read more

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici > Made in France : il n'est jamais trop tard pour en acheter

MADE IN FRANCE : IL N’EST JAMAIS TROP TARD POUR EN ACHETER

Alors que de nombreuses marques s'inscrivent aujourd'hui dans une réelle démarche de production locale pour offrir à leurs consommateurs des pièces Made in France, d'autres coquines n'hésitent pas à essorer l'appellation en cochant le minimum de cases possibles pour s'attribuer des mérites d'une écoconception qu'elles ne font qu'à moitié. Sans vouloir tirer la couette (le plaid ?), La Maison de la Maille a à cœur depuis la création de la marque de se concentrer sur un circuit de fabrication et de production au maximum Made in France. Cette démarche implique l'ensemble des métiers, à tous les maillons de la chaîne de production, rassemblés à l'échelon local. Le vrai Made in France, ce que ça veut dire, pourquoi c'est mieux

leplaidmerveilleux-shooting-toison-pirouette-pacha-panache.jpg

LE MADE IN FRANCE, C’EST QUOI ? 

 

Comme son nom l’indique plutôt bien, il s’agit de produits qui sont fabriqués en France.
Sa version française moins utilisée « Fabriqué en France » veut dire la même chose et pour être en droit d’afficher cette mention, il en va de la responsabilité du commerçant de s’assurer que le produit répond aux règles d’origine non préférentielle établies par le code des douanes de l’Union (CDU). C’est du chinois ? Un comble ! (blagounette). Cette même mention est là pour attester de l’origine du produit en question. Cette notion d'origine utilisée par les services douaniers est différente du label Origine France Garantie qui est attribué par un organisme indépendant et obéit à un cahier des charges bien spécifique. L'obtention de ce label permet aux entreprises qui en font le choix, de valoriser leur production nationale. La Maison de la Maille en fait partie.

ATTENTION AUX MADE IN ...

C’est malheureusement le nerf de la guerre. Alors que de nombreuses marques s’inscrivent dans une réelle démarche de production locale pour offrir à leurs consommateurs des pièces Made in France, d’autres coquines n’hésitent pas à essorer l’appellation en cochant le minimum de cases possibles pour s’attribuer des mérites d’une écoconception qu’elles ne font qu’à moitié. Le Made in France en mode c’est un peu le bio en alimentation. Selon la législation en vigueur, le produit prend l’origine du pays dans lequel il a subi la dernière transformation substantielle (les règles attenantes à ce titre sont détaillées sur le site officiel du gouvernement). D’autres marques, moins scrupuleuses encore, volent la mention (délit punis pas la loi mais nous ne sommes pas la police n’est-ce pas) pour attirer le client. Nous vous interpellons donc sur l’importance de vérifier en détail le procédé de fabrication et de production d’une marque lorsque vous envisagez d’acheter du Made In France. Le prix peut aussi être un bon indicateur (encore que, pas toujours), si vous trouvez un pull en laine Made In France à 40 euros, il y a de très grandes chances pour qu’il ne soit pas réellement Made In France. Ou alors, balancez-moi le nom, j’ai des cadeaux à faire.

 

POURQUOI C’EST MIEUX ?

 

C’est mieux pour plusieurs raisons. D’abord, écologiquement, le Made in France signifie qu’il n’y a à priori pas de lourds trajets effectués entre les différents prestataires avec un impact carbone pour un simple jean qui est parfois atterrant. Ensuite, économiquement, le Made in France – si tant est qu’il soit fait sérieusement - nécessite l’implication d’une main d’œuvre locale et donc contribue au maintien de l’emploi y compris dans les filières artisanales. En termes de traçabilité aussi, le consommateur peut avoir accès bien plus facilement et dans le détail au procédé de fabrication de A à Z afin de savoir précisément ce qu’il achète.

 

LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE 100% MADE IN FRANCE

Sans vouloir tirer la couette (le plaid ?), La Maison de la Maille a à cœur depuis la création de la marque de se concentrer sur un circuit de fabrication et de production au maximum Made in France. Cette démarche implique l’ensemble des métiers, à tous les maillons de la chaîne de production, rassemblés à l’échelon local. Le choix scrupuleux des partenaires étrangers - fournisseurs de fibres - marque aussi son engagement. La Maison de la Maille travaille uniquement avec des producteurs triés sur le volet et labellisés, certifiant la traçabilité totale de leurs fibres. Sa dernière création de prestige, Le Plaid Merveilleux, s’inscrit lui dans une politique 100% Made in France et fait la grande fierté de la Maison.

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

D’après un sondage IFOP datant de 2018, 74 % de Français se déclarent prêts à payer plus cher pour acheter un produit fabriqué en France. Presque 4 ans plus tard et après une crise sanitaire qui a fait bouger les lignes dans le bon sens (comme l’explique notamment Hélène Daret, directrice Pôle Marques chez Refashion, dans le portrait que nous avons fait d’elle) l’appétence des consommateurs pour les produits locaux est de plus en plus élevée. Une des raisons aussi pour lesquelles La Maison de la Maille tend perpétuellement à approfondir ses engagements écologiques à travers ses créations.

Article écrit par Laura Isaaz

Produit à découvrir : 

Pour noël, les anniversaires, les crémaillères ou juste pour faire plaisir, offrir des cadeaux est une tradition réjouissante pour tout le monde mais qui peut cependant mettre à mal bon nombre de valeurs comme l’écologie, l’anti-surconsommation… Heureusement, parce que les mentalités sur le sujet n’ont de cesse d’évoluer, il existe aujourd’hui de nombreuses façons de se gâter les uns les autres tout en respectant la planète. Plaid, sac, pièce couture, soin beauté… Nous vous avons sélectionné 10 idées de cadeaux écolos à offrir sans tarder.

Lire la suite

10 bonnes raisons d'acheter un plaid.jpg

Nous ne vous le dirons jamais assez ; s’offrir (ou offrir) un plaid La Maison de la Maille ne peut être qu’une bonne idée. Son positionnement haut de gamme se révèle dès le moment où avez le bonheur de l’avoir sur les épaules. Doux, pratique, intemporel… Les bonnes raisons de se laisser tenter sont nombreuses, on vous en liste 10 qui devraient vous convaincre définitivement.

Lire la suite