Home > Editorial > You are here > Everything you need to know about Cashmere wool

EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW
ABOUT CASHMERE WOOL

The wonderful world of woolens embraces a whole group of fibers. Since its creation, La Maison de la Maille has been known and recognized for its items made of alpaca wool, merino wool and also recycled wool. Discover today another type of woolen fabric which doesn’t need us to sing its praises: cashmere wool. We didn't use it at the Maison ...until today.

LaineCachemire_plaid.jpg

CASHMERE WOOL, WASSAT?

 

It is widely regarded as THE luxury wool. Not necessarily more prestigious than alpaca wool but considerably more popular nowadays.

Highly sought after because of its extreme softness and its rarity, cashmere is worthy of this name if its fibers are sheared from a goat raised in a geographical area that extends from the north of the Indian Kashmir (if, like me, you spent too much time playing tic-tac-toe in geography class, check it out on Google Earth) to the north of Mongolia. Cashmere wool comes from the long undercoat (the down) of goats that are known for their ability to withstand extreme temperatures in their natural habitat.

 

CHARACTERISTICS OF CASHMERE WOOL

 

Cashmere has earned this prestigious reputation because the characteristics that define it would make any sheep green with envy. Soft, supple, insulating and extremely fine, another quality of cashmere is that it also combines very well with other textiles such as cotton or different categories of woolen fabrics.

 

LOOKING AFTER CASHMERE

 

Cashmere loves water! So don’t hesitate to wash your cashmere items regularly to prevent the appearance of bobbles, and also to ensure that they remain supple and soft. And, despite all the common preconceptions on the subject, cashmere washes very well in the washing machine on a cold wool cycle using special detergent for woolens. And, of course, you can also wash it by hand.

 

How do you dry it?

 

Again, information is often contradictory. One thing that’s important to remember: use a very gentle spin cycle (maximum 500 revolutions) and then spread your item out flat on a towel to prevent it losing its shape.

 

A good tip

 

You can iron cashmere provided you follow a few basic rules to prevent damaging the fiber (iron lightly, with a steam jet, and inside out).  One thing you must absolutely not use when cleaning your cashmere, although you might think otherwise, is fabric softener. It makes the wool heavy and distorts its quality and softness.

 

THERE’S CASHMERE AND THERE’S CASHMERE

 

All the same, be very careful when selecting your cashmere item. As often happens, when products are as successful as this, it leads to a whole murky process of sourcing and manufacture, with certain economy brands today offering items at very attractive prices but which do not always meet the criteria of luxury and authenticity required by cashmere. Don’t hesitate to spend a few extra euros on your throw or scarf; you won’t be disappointed with your investment.

Article written by Laura Isaaz

Discover our new blanket in recycled cashmere wool

Discover more products: 

leplaidmerveilleux-qali.jpg

Because behind the amusing animal, with its big round eyes, long legs and fluffy fleece that really makes you want to cuddle them and explode records for the number of likes on Instagram, taking care of an alpaca requires unfailing, daily, passionate devotion. Black, red-haired, two-colored, white, grey, large, not so large, small; they are not all alike, but it is difficult to tell all 40 of them apart. And then Axelle arrives. And all you have to do is watch them live to realize that there is really no surprise because each animal has its own personality. Really, just take a look. 

leplaidmerveilleux-etiquette-matiere-blog.jpg

Le Plaid Merveilleux, the novelty you've been waiting for

Because La Maison de la Maille never stops wanting to go further in exceptional creation, the brand is launching on Sunday July 4  its novelty: the Marvelous Throw. Even more luxurious than the previous products, it stands out as the essential luxury and ecological decoration. Wonderful and much more.

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici > Tout savoir sur la laine cachemire 

TOUT SAVOIR SUR LA LAINE CACHEMIRE

Dans le monde merveilleux des lainages, il existe tout un panel de fibres. La Maison de la Maille est depuis sa création connue et reconnue pour ses pièces en laine d’Alpaga, en laine Mérinos mais aussi en laine recyclée. Aujourd’hui, c’est sur un autre type de lainage, moins utilisé jusqu'à aujourd'hui au sein de la Maison, mais dont la gloire n’est plus à démontrer, que nous faisons le focus : la laine cachemire.

LaineCachemire_plaid.jpg

LA LAINE CACHEMIRE, QUESACO ? 

C’est LA laine de luxe aux yeux du monde. Pas davantage prestigieuse pour autant que la laine d’Alpaga mais pour le moment bien plus populaire.
Plébiscitée pour son infinie douceur et sa rareté, le cachemire mérite ce titre si ses fibres sont issues de la tonte d’une chèvre élevée dans une zone géographique qui s’étend du nord du Cachemire indien (si comme moi vous avez trop joué au morpion en géo, faites un google earth) au nord de la Mongolie. Le cachemire provient des sous-poils longs (le duvet) des chèvres qui sont connues pour supporter des températures extrêmes dans leur habitat naturel. 

CARACTÉRISTIQUES DE LA LAINE CACHEMIRE 

Si le cachemire a gagné cette notoriété de prestige c’est bien parce que les caractéristiques qui la définissent feraient pâlir d’envie n’importe quel mouton. Douce, souple, calorifuge et extrêmement fine, la laine cachemire a aussi dans sa bourse des qualités le pouvoir de très bien se mélanger aux autres textiles comme le coton ou les différentes catégories de lainages. 

L’ENTRETIEN DU CACHEMIRE 

Le cachemire adore l’eau ! N’hésitez donc pas à laver vos pièces en cachemire régulièrement afin d’éviter l’apparition de bouloches mais aussi pour qu’elles gardent toute leur souplesse et leur douceur. Et malgré toutes les idées reçues à ce sujet, le cachemire se lave très bien en machine avec un programme laine à froid et une lessive spéciale pour les laines. Vous pouvez aussi évidemment le laver à la main. 

Comment le sécher ? 

Là encore, les informations se contredisent souvent. Ce qu’il est important de retenir ; privilégiez les programmes d’essorage très doux (500 tours maximum) et laisser ensuite reposer votre pièce à plat sur une serviette pour éviter sa déformation. 

Bon à savoir 

Le repassage du cachemire est possible à condition de suivre quelques règles d’usage pour ne pas abimer la fibre (avec légèreté, jet de vapeur et à l’envers). L’adoucissant lui est, contre toute attente, absolument proscrit dans le processus de nettoyage du cachemire. Il alourdit et dénature la qualité et la douceur de la laine. 

IL Y A CACHEMIRE ET CACHEMIRE 

Attention quand même à bien sélectionner votre pièce en cachemire. Comme souvent, de ce franc succès découle tout un processus obscur de sourcing et de fabrication qui promet aujourd’hui chez certaines marques bon marché des pièces à des prix très attractifs mais qui ne répondent pas toujours aux critères de luxe et d’authenticité requis par le cachemire. N’hésitez pas à mettre quelques centaines d'euros de plus dans votre plaid ou votre écharpe, vous ne serez pas déçu de l’investissement. 

Article écrit par Laura Isaaz

Produit à découvrir : 

leplaidmerveilleux-qali.jpg

Rencontrez nos alpagas ?

Parce que derrière l'animal rigolo, les gros yeux comme des billes, les longues pattes et la toison fluffy comme un appel aux câlins qui fait exploser les scores de likes sur Instagram, s'occuper d'un alpaga nécessite une dévotion sans faille, quotidienne, passionnée. Noir, roux, bicolore, blanc, gris, grand, moins grand, petit, tous ne se ressemblent pas mais il est difficile de réussir à différencier les 40. Axelle, elle, y arrive. Et il suffit de les regarder vivre pour vite comprendre que rien n'est finalement étonnant parce que chaque animal a sa propre personnalité. Vraiment, regardez.  

leplaidmerveilleux-etiquette-matiere-blog.jpg

Le Plaid Merveilleux, la nouveauté que vous attendiez

Parce que La Maison de la Maille ne s’arrête jamais de vouloir aller toujours plus loin dans la création d’exception, la marque lance le dimanche 4 juillet  sa nouveauté : le Plaid Merveilleux. Encore plus luxueux que les précédents produits, il s’impose comme l’indispensable déco luxe et écolo. Merveilleux et bien plus encore.