Home > Editorial > You are here

10 SIMple actions to protect the planet

There are some fights that shouldn't exist. Yet, even today, it remains essential to say and repeat that your daily actions in the long term can really make a difference from an environmental point of view. Global warming is here, its many fires around the world and its heat waves four months out of the year continue to remind us of this. Take a bike, reduce your energy consumption, say no to plastic... It is never too late (nor too early) to make up your mind to do the right thing. Here are 10 simple actions to take to protect the planet.

20200811_2044_WebStyleStory_DJI_0014-2.j

1 - STAY INFORMED

 

To learn is to know, to know is to measure. To measure is to progress. Take the time to read some well-informed articles on the ecological state of our planet today, the tragedies we can expect, the spine-chilling (or hot) prognoses. Watch documentaries that deal with this hot topic. Listen to the scientists and experts gives the alarming numbers and the advice that can make a difference... Knowing all this, it's impossible (or unthinkable) not to wake up and change some of the habits in our life.

 

2 - BUY LESS AND BUY BETTER

 

Stop the trips to the temples of perishable fashion, infused with products from forced labor in Uyghur labor camps. We stop participating in the diabolical Fast Fashion industry, we buy less and we buy better by favoring quality products (made in France or local if possible), certainly more expensive to buy but much more resistant in time-and above all-ethical and ecological. If it's true for fashion, it's true for everything else. For example, we will choose to treat ourselves to a beautiful La Maison de la Maille blanket, a high-end piece made with respect for the planet and animals.

 

3 - LOWER THE HEATING

 

When the balmy summer months take their leave to make way for the frost, the heaters come on in the cottages and the thermostats go up. The problem? Heating (mainly electric) is responsible for significant greenhouse gas emissions and is therefore part of non-green habits that we need to change quickly. If the options for banning electric heating are still rather meager, it is however possible to instead use wood heating (... but by properly studying the offers to go towards its most environmentally friendly versions. Only certain efficient devices are really effective and ecological), to insulate your home more, to choose natural gas heating or, the most ecological solution of all, to cover yourself with a good blanket rather than increase the heating by a few degrees. Good deeds and pleasure can go hand in hand by giving yourself anti-cold allies like a woolen blanket from La Maison de la Maille.

 

4 - STOP USING PLASTIC

 

This is probably the number one enemy of our planet: plastic. It is impossible to ignore, present everywhere, it invades our oceans at the rate of several tonnes per year. A dramatic situation generated by the insane amount of waste that humans have produced for several decades. If, fortunately, measures at the national level have been taken to reduce the impact of plastic, it is imperative to modify our consumption habits as much as possible, by buying in bulk, by shopping with a tote bag and by being vigilant with the packaging of the products you buy (opt for glass or cardboard)...

 

5 - CHOOSE YOUR MODE OF TRANSPORT

 

We can never say it enough, cars pollute (unless it is electric, of course). Among the first changes to be made on a daily basis, the choice of transport is therefore essential. Cycling (Paris is now a city ready to welcome them en masse), public transport, walking... There are many alternatives for separating from our old habits of using motors. For those who have no choice but to take the car to get around, today there are some great ride sharing apps.

 

6 - REUSE

 

What if we gave things a second life? Not easy for humans to return to more basic modes of consumption, based on recovery, repair, upcycling, second hand... And yet, minds are changing and more and more people are making the decision to favor second-hand purchases to fight against overconsumption (and get good business). Vinted, Leboncoin, Vestiaire Collective, vintage shops... There are now several sites and selling points that offer fashion or decorative pieces at prices that are very competitive. Better still, it has even become a real trend! With La Maison de la Maille, you can opt for our eco-designed wool range with our 100% recycled fiber blankets. Their design is based on a unique process of recycling unused scraps from new knits. A production that not only consumes less material, but also less water!

 

7 - TURN OFF THE WATER

 

Let's talk about the water. Stopping running it while brushing your teeth would save up to 24 liters of water per day. All is said. Here too, these are some small reflexes to adopt on a daily basis to participate in the collective effort and save our planet. We can turn off the water when we soap, when we scrub the dishes with a sponge, when we shave, and we make sure that there are no small leaks at home (a leaky tap represents a loss of 4 liters per hour or about 200 euros per year)...

 

8 - CONSUME ORGANIC

 

Who says consuming organic says consuming green. Indeed, when a product is certified organic, this means that its cultivation is made without pesticides, without GMOs and without additives such as colorings and flavor enhancers. Not to mention that beyond saving our planet is also a habit of maintaining good health. If for a long time it was almost impossible to consume organic without breaking your House Savings Plan, the offer is now much wider. There are many specialized brands and dedicated shelves in all traditional supermarkets.

 

9 - SORT

We shouldn't even have to say it anymore, but: let's sort it out! Plastic and packaging in the yellow bin, glass in the white or in the container provided for this purpose and other waste in the green. It's the minimum.

 

10 - SPREAD THE WORD

Because two savvy people are better than one, don't hesitate to spread the word (and share this article) so that those around you can adopt the right reflexes too. Teaching adults mean taking the risk of appearing to be the heavy-duty or the cliché green activist, but above all it is to continue conveying a message that brings hope (let's not lose hope!) by becoming obvious to everyone. So let's be heavy, let's be passionate, let's be green, and let's show a good example.

Discover more products: 

Gaelle%20Constantini%20mode%20responsabl

In 2010, when Gaëlle Constantini made the bet to create her own brand of female ready-to-wear under the prism of eco-responsibility, the universe of ethical clothing still had the label of a niche sector and was more praised by green activists than by the trendy sphere.

Read more

20170815_WebStyleStory_DSC08382.jpg

Protection of animals seems -at last- to have become an essential component of the major trend towards brand adopting ethical stances. To certify that no action involving animals of any kind is carried out during the manufacturing process for a product, brands that comply with the stipulated requirements are awarded the "cruelty-free" label. 

Read more

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici

10 ACTIONS SIMPLES POUR PROTÉGER LA PLANÈTe

Il y a certains combats qui ne devraient pas en être. Pourtant, aujourd’hui encore, il reste essentiel de dire et répéter que vos gestes du quotidien peuvent, sur le long terme, réellement changer la donne d’un point de vue environnemental. Le réchauffement climatique est là, ses nombreux incendies à travers le monde et ses canicules quatre mois dans l’année continuent de nous le rappeler. Prendre le vélo, réduire sa consommation d’énergie, dire stop au plastique...                  Il n’est jamais trop tard (ni trop tôt) pour se décider à bien agir. Voici 10 actions simples à mettre en œuvre pour protéger la planète.

20200811_2044_WebStyleStory_DJI_0014-2.j

 

1 - S’INFORMER

 

S’informer c’est savoir, savoir c’est mesurer. Mesurer c’est progresser. Prenez le temps de lire quelques articles bien renseignés sur l’état écologique de notre planète aujourd’hui, sur les drames auxquels nous pouvons nous attendre, sur les pronostics qui font froid dans le dos (ou chaud, du coup). Regardez des documentaires qui traitent de ce sujet brulant. Écoutez les scientifiques et les experts donner les chiffres alarmants et les conseils qui peuvent faire changer les choses... En sachant tout ça, impossible (ou impensable) de pas se réveiller et changer quelques habitudes dans notre vie.

 

2 - ACHETER MOINS ET ACHETER MIEUX

 

Stop aux virées dans les temples de la mode périssable, perfusés aux produits provenant du travail forcé dans des camps de travail Ouïghours. On arrête de participer à l’industrie diabolique de la Fast Fashion, on achète moins et on achète mieux en privilégiant les pièces de qualité (made in France ou locales si possible), certes plus onéreuses à l’achat mais bien plus résistantes dans le temps - et surtout - éthiques et écologiques. Et si ça vaut pour la mode, ça vaut pour tout le reste. On choisira par exemple de s’offrir un joli plaid en laine La Maison de la Maille, une pièce haute de gamme fabriquée dans le respect de la planète et des animaux.

 

3 - BAISSER LE CHAUFFAGE

 

Quand les doux mois d’été prennent leurs congés pour laisser la place aux frimas, les chauffages s’allument dans les chaumières et les thermostats explosent. Le problème ? Le chauffage (électrique principalement) est responsable d’émissions significatives de gaz à effet de serre et s’inscrit donc dans les habitudes non-écolos sur lesquelles agir rapidement. Si les options pour bannir le chauffage électrique sont encore assez maigres, il est toutefois possible de préférer un chauffage au bois (...mais en étudiant correctement les offres pour aller vers sa version la plus respectueuse de l’environnement car seuls certains dispositifs performants sont vraiment écologiques), d’isoler davantage son logement, de choisir un chauffage au gaz naturel ou encore, solution la plus écologique de toutes, de se couvrir d’une bonne couverture plutôt que d’augmenter le chauffage de quelques degrés. Bonnes actions et plaisir peuvent aller de pair en s’offrant des alliés anti-froid comme un plaid en laine de La Maison de la Maille.

4 - STOPPER LE PLASTIQUE

C’est probablement l’ennemi n°1 de notre planète: le plastique. Impossible de l’ignorer, présent partout, il s’invite dans nos océans à raison de plusieurs tonnes par an. Une situation dramatique générée par la quantité démentielle de déchets que l’humain produit depuis plusieurs décennies. Si, heureusement, des mesures à l’échelle nationale ont été prises pour réduire l’impact du plastique, il est impératif de modifier nos habitudes de consommation au maximum en achetant en vrac, en faisant ses courses avec un tote bag, en étant vigilant sur les emballages des produits que l’on achète (préférer le verre ou le carton)...

 

5 – CHOISIR SON MODE DE TRANSPORT

 

On ne le dira jamais assez, la voiture ça pollue (sauf si elle est électrique, évidemment). Parmi les premiers changements à opérer au quotidien, le choix du transport est donc essentiel. Le vélo (Paris est aujourd’hui une ville prête à les accueillir en masse), les transports en commun, la marche à pied... Nombreuses sont les alternatives pour se séparer de nos vieilles habitudes d’humains motorisés. Et pour tous ceux qui n’ont pas d’autre choix que de prendre la voiture pour se déplacer, il existe aujourd’hui d’excellentes applications de co-voiturage.

 

6 - RÉUTILISER

 

Et si on donnait une seconde vie aux choses ? Pas facile pour l’Homme de revenir à des modes de consommation plus sommaires, basés sur la récupération, la réparation, l’upcycling, la seconde main... Et pourtant, les esprits changent et de plus en plus de personnes prennent la décision de privilégier des achats d’occasion pour lutter contre la surconsommation (et faire de bonnes affaires). Vinted, Le bon coin, Vestiaire Collectif, les boutiques vintage, il existe aujourd’hui plusieurs sites et points de vente qui proposent des pièces de modes ou de déco à des prix dynamitant toute concurrence. Mieux, c’est même devenu une vraie tendance ! Avec La Maison de la Maille, vous pouvez opter pour notre gamme en laine éco-conçue avec nos plaids en fibres 100% recyclées. Leur conception se base sur un procédé unique de recyclage des chutes inutilisées de tricots neufs. Une fabrication qui non seulement consomme moins de matière, mais aussi moins d’eau !

 

7 - COUPER L’EAU

 

Parlons-en de l’eau. Arrêtez de la faire couler pendant qu’on se brosse les dents permettrait d’économiser jusqu’à 24 litres d’eau par jour. Tout est dit. Là aussi, il s’agit de petits réflexes à adopter au quotidien pour participer à l’effort collectif et sauver notre planète. Alors on coupe l’eau quand on se savonne, quand on frotte les plats avec l’éponge, quand on se rase, et on surveille à ce qu’il n’y ait pas de petites fuites chez soi (un robinet qui fuit goutte à goutte représente une perte de 4 litres par heure soit environ 200 euros par an)...

 

8 - CONSOMMER BIO

 

Qui dit consommer bio, dit consommer écolo. En effet, lorsqu’un produit est certifié bio, cela signifie que sa culture est faite sans pesticides, sans OGM et sans additifs comme les colorants, les exhausteurs de goût... Sans compter qu’au-delà d’être salvateur pour nos terres, c’est également une habitude à prendre pour rester en bonne santé. Et si pendant longtemps il était presque impossible de consommer bio sans casser son Plan Épargne Logement, l’offre est aujourd’hui beaucoup plus large. Il existe de nombreuses enseignes spécialisées et des rayons dédiés dans tous les supermarchés traditionnels.

 

9 - FAIRE LE TRI

 

On ne devrait même plus avoir à le dire mais : faisons le tri ! Le plastique et les emballages dans la poubelle jaune, le verre dans la blanche ou dans le container prévu à cet effet et les autres déchets dans la verte. C’est le minimum.

 

10 - PASSER LE MOT

 

Parce que deux personnes averties en valent mieux qu’une, n’hésitez pas à passer le mot (et à partager cet article) pour que les personnes de votre entourage adoptent aussi les bons réflexes. Faire de la pédagogie avec les adultes c’est prendre le risque de passer pour le lourd de service ou pour le cliché du militant écolo, mais c’est surtout continuer de véhiculer un propos porteur d’espoir qui finira peut-être un jour (ne perdons pas espoir) par devenir évident pour tous. Alors soyons lourd, soyons passionnés, soyons écolos, et montrons le bon exemple.

Produit à découvrir : 

Gaelle%20Constantini%20mode%20responsabl

 

 

Quand en 2010 Gaëlle Constantini a fait le pari de créer sa propre marque de prêt-à-porter féminin sous le prisme de l’écoresponsabilité, l’univers du vêtement éthique avait encore l’étiquette de secteur niche et était davantage encensé par les militants écolos que par la sphère branchée.

20170815_WebStyleStory_DSC08382.jpg

Chez beaucoup de marques, la protection des animaux semble aujourd’hui être devenue - enfin - une notion incontournable. Afin de certifier qu’aucune action impliquant un risque de souffrance animale n’est menée durant le processus de fabrication du produit, la mention « Cruelty-Free » est délivrée aux marques qui respectent les consignes en vigueur.

Lire la suite