Home > Editorial > You are here

WHAT ARE THE DIFFERENT TYPES OF KNITWEAR?

You would have to have gone to a fashion school, worked in the fabric industry or even be a couturier to know and understand the different types of knits that exist and why some are preferred over others. Sand stitch, moss stitch, mesh, weaving, warp and weft, all these technical terms are the everyday life of houses like ours. We enlighten you here on the many things to know in order to feed your curiosity on the subject. For the sake of transparency always, and sharing.

_edited.jpg

KNITTING OR WEAVING?

First and foremost, in order to understand the different manufacturing processes, it is essential to know that there are two main techniques in the world of yarn, knitting (mesh) and weaving (warp and weft).

 

What is knitting?

 

Knitting is a manufacturing process that involves interweaving loops of threads called stitches. This technique relies on the use of needles. The stitches between them constitute in the end a stretchy and very resistant fabric. This is the main difference with weaving which, because the threads are taut and there are no loops like in knitting, it does not have this property of stretching or "deforming".

 

What is weaving?

 

Weaving is a technique of assembling threads carried out using a loom (the machine used to make fabric). This consists of crossing the threads between them once stretched, unlike knitting which uses loops. We speak of warp and weft, warp for the threads stretched in the direction of the loom length, weft for the threads stretched in the direction of the width. With evolving technologies, today weaving can be done on a large scale and on very sophisticated machines.

The choice of la Maison de la Maille

 

In making its wool pieces, La Maison de la Maille has chosen (as its name suggests rather well by the way) to work only with mesh. For a matter of prestige but also because it's many advantages give the brand's throws and shawls the qualities we know them by.

 

Flexibility: the mesh is very stretchy, therefore, de facto, extremely flexible. This allows it to adapt, to follow the curves of the body and to make it totally enveloping for infinite comfort without ever altering it's aesthetics or its resistance.

Freedom: knitwear offers those who use them a huge range of possibilities to obtain the desired material rendering. With its many varieties of knitting stitches and depending on the number of threads and the choice of needles used for the making, the stitch can be thick, thin, dense, or less dense and its feel is different depending on the model of mesh chosen.

The knit also has the quality of letting the natural fibers move and evolve freely thanks to the adjusting power of the knit. This allows for puffiness when necessary for certain fibers (as is the case for example for alpaca).

 

THE DIFFERENT TYPES OF KNITTING:

 

Sand stitch knitting

 

The sand stitch is quite technical, it is the combination of a knit row and a row where the knit and purl stitches alternate. This knitting is used in particular for our baby alpaca throws.

 

Moss stitch knitting

 

On the first row of moss stitch knitting, alternate knit stitch, purl stitch, knit stitch, purl stitch... On the second row we start with purl stitch then knit stitch... And so on for each new row.This knitting is used in particular for our eco-designed wool throws.

 

Jersey point knitting

 

It is simply a matter of alternating between a row with knit stitch and a row with purl stitch.This knit is used in particular for our merino wool throws.

 

Garter stitch knitting

 

It is one of the easiest knits to knit. You just have to knit all of your stitches.This knitting is used in particular to make the monogram in the middle of our throws and shawls.

 

Pique stitch knitting

 

The pique stitch uses the principle of alternating between purl stitch and knit stitch but is repeated regularly and more spaced, to create relief patterns.This knitting is used in particular for our shawls.

 

Full stitch knitting

 

This is the first and last stitch of the row by knitting for the outline of the piece, and in between all the stitches in the row are knitted normally. This knitting is used in particular for the edge of the pique knitted shawl.

 

Rib knitting

 

This is the knitting used in the finish of our pieces. This knitting is used in particular for the border of our throws.

Discover more products: 

BABY ALPACA WOOL PLAID - BROWN

BABY ALPACA WOOL PLAID - BROWN

€529.00Price
_edited.jpg

In the wonderful world of wool, there are many different categories. La Maison de la Maille works with Baby Alpaca wool, Merino wool and eco-designed wool. We will focus on this last one today, a recycled material that has many advantages and that is part of the ethical dynamic that La Maison de la Maille is keen to represent.

Read more

Capture d’écran 2017-09-20 à 07.40.40.pn

Discover in pictures 15 ways to wear and use a wool throw.

See more

Subscribe to La Maison de la Maille: 

© 2021 La maison de la maille

Need help?

 

Contact us

+33 2 85 85 97 74


contact@lamaisondelamaille.com

 

La flèche (72) - paris (75)

France

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici

Quels sont les différents types de tricots ?

Il faudrait avoir fait une école de mode, travaillé dans l’industrie du tissu ou encore être couturier.e pour connaître et comprendre les différents types de tricots qui existent et pour quelles raisons certains sont préférés à d’autres. Point de sable, point de riz, maille, tissage, chaîne et trame, tous ces termes techniques sont le quotidien des maisons comme la nôtre. Nous vous éclairons ici sur les nombreuses choses à connaître afin de nourrir votre curiosité sur le sujet. Dans un souci de transparence, always, et de partage.

_edited.jpg

TRICOTAGE OU TISSAGE ?

Avant toute chose, il est essentiel pour comprendre les différents procédés de fabrication de savoir qu’il existe deux techniques incontournables dans l’univers du fil, le tricotage (maille) et le tissage (chaîne et trame).

Le tricotage, c’est quoi ?

Le tricotage est un procédé de fabrication qui repose sur l’entrelacement de boucles de fil appelées mailles. Cette technique repose sur l’utilisation d’aiguilles. Les mailles entre elles constituent au final une étoffe extensible et très résistante. C’est la principale différence avec le tissage qui parce que les fils sont tendus et qu’il n’y a pas de boucles comme dans le tricot, n’a pas cette propriété à s’étendre, se « déformer ».

Le tissage, c’est quoi ?

Le tissage est une technique d’assemblage de fils réalisé à l’aide d’un métier à tisser (machine utilisée pour fabriquer du tissu). Celui-ci consiste à croiser les fils entre eux une fois tendus contrairement au tricotage qui utilise des boucles. On parle de chaîne et trame, chaîne pour les fils tendus dans le sens de la longueur du métier à tisser, trame pour les fils tendus dans le sens de la largeur. Avec les technologies qui évoluent, aujourd’hui, le tissage peut être réalisé à grande échelle et sur des machines très perfectionnées.

Le choix de la Maison de la Maille

Pour la confection de ses pièces en laine, La Maison de la Maille a pris le parti (comme son nom l’indique plutôt bien d’ailleurs) de ne travailler qu’avec de la maille. Pour une question de prestige, mais aussi parce que ses nombreux atouts confèrent aux plaids et aux châles de la marque les qualités qu’on leur connaît.

La souplesse : la maille est très extensible donc, de facto, extrêmement souple. Ce qui lui permet de s’adapter, de vivre en épousant les courbes du corps et de la rendre totalement enveloppante pour un confort infini sans jamais altérer son esthétisme ni sa résistance.

La liberté : la maille offre à celui. Celle qui s’en sert un immense champ des possibles pour obtenir le rendu de l’étoffe désiré. Avec ses nombreuses variétés de points de tricot et en fonction du nombre de fils et du choix des aiguilles que l’on utilise pour la confection, la maille peut être épaisse, moins épaisse, dense, moins dense et son ressenti différent selon le modèle de maille choisi. La maille a aussi comme qualité de laisser les fibres naturelles bouger et évoluer librement grâce au pouvoir d’ajustement du tricot. Ça permet notamment de laisser du gonflant lorsque c’est nécessaire pour certaines fibres (comme c’est le cas par exemple pour l’alpaga).

LES DIFFÉRENTS TYPES DE TRICOTS :

 

Le tricot point de sable

Le point de sable est assez technique, il s’agit de l’association entre un rang endroit et un rang où les mailles endroit et envers s’alternent. Ce tricot est notamment utilisé pour nos plaids en baby-alpaga.

 

Le tricot point de riz

Au premier rang de tricot point de riz il faut alterner une maille endroit, une maille envers, une maille endroit, une maille envers... Au deuxième rang on commence par la maille envers puis la maille endroit... Et ainsi de suite à chaque nouveau rang. Ce tricot est notamment utilisé pour nos plaids en laine éco-conçue.

 

Le tricot point de jersey

 

Il s’agit ici, simplement, de l’alternance entre un rang à maille endroit et un rang à maille envers. Ce tricot est notamment utilisé pour nos plaids en laine mérinos.

 

Le tricot point mousse

 

C’est l’un des tricots les plus simples à réaliser. Il s’agit de tricoter toutes ses mailles à l’endroit. Ce tricot est notamment utilisé pour la réalisation du monogramme au milieu de nos plaids et châles.

 

Le tricot point piqué

 

Le point piqué reprend le principe de l’alternance entre maille envers et maille endroit mais se répète de manière régulière, plus espacée, pour créer comme des motifs en relief. Ce tricot est notamment utilisé pour les châles.

 

Le tricot maille pleine

 

Il s’agit du tricot de la première et la dernière maille du rang en maille endroit pour le contour de l’ouvrage, et entre les deux, toutes les mailles du rang sont tricotées normalement. Ce tricot est notamment utilisé pour la bordure du châle piqué.

 

Le tricot bord côte

Il s’agit du tricot utilisé pour la finition des pièces. Ce tricot est notamment utilisé pour la bordure des plaids.

Produit à découvrir : 

PLAID LAINE BABY ALPAGA BRUN

PLAID LAINE BABY ALPAGA BRUN

529,00 €Prix
_edited.jpg

Dans le monde merveilleux des lainages, il existe différentes catégories de laine. La Maison de la Maille travaille avec de la laine Baby Alpaga, de la laine Mérinos et de la laine éco-conçue.C’est sur cette dernière citée que nous ferons le focus aujourd’hui, une matière recyclée qui a bien des avantages et qui s’inscrit dans la dynamique éthique que La Maison de la Maille est désireuse de représenter... Lire la suite

Capture d’écran 2017-09-20 à 07.40.40.pn

Découvrez en image 15 façons de porter et d'utiliser une couverture.

Voir les photos

Suivez notre actualité :

© 2021 la maison de la maille

besoin d'aide ?

 

contactez-nous

+33 2 85 85 97 74


contact@lamaisondelamaille.com

 

La flèche (72) - paris (75)

France