Home > Editorial > You are here > The interview: Marie Ceysson, gallery owner

THE INTERVIEW: MARIE CEYSSON, GALLERY OWNER

Invent, reinvent, and never stop at what has already been done; that is the adage of La Maison de la Maille. After the recent launch of its “Plaid Merveilleux” (Marvelous Throw), the brand is back this fall with a completely new project, both different and extremely bold: reproducing the works of major contemporary artists on the house’s throws and shawls. How did this collaboration come about? Who are the artists involved in the project? Marie Ceysson, gallery owner, enlightens us.

LMDLM_Collab_collection_Capsule_Oeuvres_Floquet

Marie, can you tell us a little more about yourself and your gallery?

 

I work at the Galerie Ceysson & Bénétière with my husband. It was created in 2006 in St Étienne, which is where we hail from. And we have expanded into several strategic locations in the art world: New York, Lyon, Paris, Geneva and Luxembourg. We recently opened a new 1200m2 space in St Étienne that has a restaurant and our first store in a genuine dedicated space, called “La Supérette”.

How did the idea for this project come about?

 

Here at the gallery we have already worked with artists on products that are alien to the art world in the strict sense of the term. In particular, we have produced Hermès scarves and a line of Sergio Rossi bags with the contemporary artist Claude Viallat. We were also involved in a collaboration between Claude Caillol and Marni. On a personal level, I had already known Charlotte, the founder of La Maison de la Maille, for a number of years, and it occurred to me that a throw would be the ideal format for a project like this.

 

What do you like about this type of partnerships?

 

I am thrilled by the idea of being able to exhibit art works in a new way. It is a way of opening up the art world to the general public, and offering a totally different experience. And although we are aware that not everyone can afford a throw costing 1200 euros, our store also has mugs, notebooks and jigsaw puzzles for kids, amongst other things. Making art accessible to everyone is something that gives me great pleasure. Not to mention the visibility it gives to the gallery and also to the artist.

Why throws?

 

Because I believe it is a product that it is ideal for a collaboration of this kind. It is a sublime product, particularly the throws made by La Maison de la Maille, and I see it as a kind of extension of a work of art. You can have a painting on the wall and a throw on the sofa as a continuation of that. I like that idea a lot.

Which artists have you decided to work with?

Given that this project is our first foray into this area, we have selected just two artists; ORLAN and Christian Floquet.

ORLAN is a major artist from the 1970s, 80s and 90s. She is known for her vibrant colors and her highly geometrical works, but also her performances as a plastician, her experiments with the body and the different forms it can take. Her biggest challenge was to demonstrate in the 1970s that a geometrical painting could be just as powerful and aesthetic as a figurative work reveling in detail and technique.

As for Christian Floquet, he is known and recognized for his very (very) large format, monolithic works. His goal as an artist is to invest the canvas with very simple geometrical compositions but also to shock the eye by combining powerful, daring and sometimes even grating colors.

With ORLAN we have created a throw and with Christian Floquet we have worked on a throw and two models of shawls. A very structured throw, with contrasts in black and white, one shawl with a dominant yellow and another with a dominant violet.

 

What do the artists think of the project?

 

The artists were enthusiastic about the idea of participating, but they also had their doubts. They waited to see the result before committing to it; we insisted on the highest standards, but it is their works we are talking about and they don’t want to see them misrepresented. And we obviously understand that 100%. Their name is genuinely associated with the project and every item sold will have a certificate by the artist. We are very happy that the finished product was able to meet their expectations.

Are the works knitted or printed?

Knitted! This brings additional constraints, but the result is sublime. For example, we couldn’t choose a work with more than five colors, because we had to adapt to the different limitations imposed by the knit, but we are very proud of the result.

Written by Laura Isaaz

Discover more products: 

LMDLM-emailing-tricots

You would have to have gone to a fashion school, worked in the fabric industry or even be a couturier to know and understand the different types of knits that exist and why some are preferred over others. Sand stitch, moss stitch, mesh, weaving, warp and weft, all these technical terms are the everyday life of houses like ours. We enlighten you here on the many things to know in order to feed your curiosity on the subject. For the sake of transparency always, and sharing.

Read more.

Alpaga.jpg

Where is he from ? What is he doing ? How is his fleece? Is he nice, clean and sociable? We have closely studied the different characteristics of the alpaca in order to tell you a little more about this animal species still relatively unknown in Europe. Since its fiber is widely used in the manufacture of our La Maison de la Maille products, it seemed essential to us to highlight the 10 most important (and no doubt surprising) traits of its personality.

Read more

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici > L'interview : Marie Ceysson, galeriste

L’INTERVIEW : MARIE CEYSSON, GALERISTE

Inventer, réinventer, ne jamais s’arrêter à ce qui a déjà été fait, tel est l’adage de La Maison de la Maille. Après avoir lancé il y a peu son Plaid Merveilleux, la marque revient cet automne avec un tout nouveau projet, différent et terriblement audacieux ; reproduire les œuvres de grands artistes de la scène contemporaine sur les pièces de la maison, plaids et châles. Comment cette collaboration a-t-elle était rendue possible ? Qui sont les artistes prenant part au projet ?

Marie Ceysson, galeriste, nous éclaire.

LMDLM_Collab_collection_Capsule_Oeuvres_Floquet

Marie, pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur qui vous êtes, sur votre galerie ?
 

Je travaille au sein de la Galerie Ceysson & Bénétière avec mon mari. Elle a été créée en 2006 à St Étienne dont nous sommes originaires. Nous avons essaimé dans plusieurs lieux stratégiques du monde de l’art : New York, Lyon, Paris, Genève et au Luxembourg. Récemment nous avons ouvert un nouvel espace de 1200m2 à St Étienne où se trouve un restaurant ainsi que notre première boutique dans un véritable espace dédié, nommée « La Supérette ».

Comment est venue l’idée de ce projet ?

Au sein de la galerie nous avons déjà travaillé avec des artistes sur des produits qui sortent de l’univers de l’art au sens strict du terme. Nous avons notamment édité des foulards Hermès et une ligne de sacs Sergio Rossi avec le peintre contemporain Claude Viallat. Nous avons aussi porté une collaboration entre Claude Caillol et Marni. De mon côté, je connaissais Charlotte, la fondatrice de La Maison de la Maille depuis quelques années déjà et je me suis dit que le plaid serait un support idéal pour un projet comme celui-ci.

Quel message vous plait à travers ce type de partenariats ?

Je trouve assez passionnant de pouvoir exposer les œuvres d’une manière nouvelle. C’est une façon d’ouvrir le monde de l’art au grand public, d’offrir une expérience totalement différente. Et même si nous savons que tout le monde ne peut pas s’offrir un plaid à 1200 euros, nous avons aussi dans la boutique des mugs, des carnets, des puzzles pour les enfants… C’est cette idée même de pouvoir rendre l’art accessible à tous qui me plait beaucoup. Sans compter que ça donne une visibilité autre à la galerie, à l’artiste aussi.

Pourquoi le plaid ?

Parce que c’est un produit très propice à une collaboration de cet ordre selon moi. C’est un produit sublime, surtout ceux de La Maison de la Maille, et je vois ça un peu comme l’extension d’une œuvre. On peut avoir une toile au mur et dans la continuité le plaid posé sur le canapé. J’aime beaucoup l’idée.

Avec quels artistes avez-vous décidé de travailler ?

Alors sur ce projet et parce que c’est une première, nous avons choisi seulement deux artistes ; ORLAN et Christian Floquet.

ORLAN est une artiste majeure des années 70 80 et 90. On la connaît pour ses couleurs éclatantes, ses œuvres très géométriques mais aussi ses performances en tant que plasticienne, ses expériences sur le corps et les différentes formes qu’il peut prendre. Son grand défi était de prouver dans les années 70 qu’une peinture géométrique pouvait être toute aussi puissante et esthétique qu’une œuvre figurative qui se complait dans le détail et la technique.

Christian Floquet, lui, est connu et reconnu pour ses œuvres de très (très) grands formats, monolithique. Son but artistique est de pouvoir investir la toile avec des compositions géométriques très simples mais aussi de choquer l’œil avec des mariages de couleurs puissantes, osées et parfois grinçantes.

Avec ORLAN nous avons fait un plaid et avec Christian nous avons travaillé sur un plaid et deux modèles de châles. Un plaid très architecturé, contrasté, en noir et blanc, un châle à dominante jaune et un à dominante violette.

Que pensent les artistes du projet ?

Les artistes étaient enthousiastes à l’idée d’y participer mais néanmoins dubitatifs. Ils attendaient de voir le résultat avant de s’engager, l’exigence était à son comble mais il s’agit de leurs œuvres et ils ne veulent pas qu’elles puissent être dénaturées, on comprend évidemment à 100%. Leur nom est réellement associé au projet et chaque exemplaire vendu sera accompagné d’un certificat de l’artiste. Nous sommes très heureux que le produit fini ait été à la hauteur de leurs espérances.

Les œuvres sont tricotées ou imprimées ?

Tricotées ! Ce qui rajoute des contraintes supplémentaires mais le résultat est sublime. Nous ne pouvions par exemple pas choisir une œuvre avec plus de cinq couleurs, il a fallu s’adapter aux différents freins qu’imposait la maille mais nous sommes très fiers du résultat.

Article écrit par Laura Isaaz

Produit à découvrir : 

LMDLM-emailing-tricots

Il faudrait avoir fait une école de mode, travaillé dans l’industrie du tissu ou encore être couturier.e pour connaitre et comprendre les différents types de tricots qui existent et pour quelles raisons certains sont préférés à d’autres.Point de sable, point de riz, maille, tissage, chaine et trame, tous ces termes techniques sont le quotidien des maisons comme la nôtre. Nous vous éclairons ici sur les nombreuses choses à connaitre afin de nourrir votre curiosité sur le sujet.Dans un souci de transparence, always, et de partage. Lire la suite

Alpaga.jpg

Ces 10 choses que vous ne savez pas sur les alpagas

D’où vient-il ? Que fait-il ? Comment est sa toison ? Est-il gentil, propre et sociable ? Nous avons étudié de près les différentes caractéristiques de l’alpaga afin de vous en dire un peu plus sur cette espèce animale encore assez peu connue en Europe. Sa fibre étant très utilisée dans la fabrication de nos produits La Maison de la Maille, il nous semblait essentiel de mettre en lumière les 10 traits les plus importants (et surprenants sans doute) de sa personnalité. Lire la suite