Home > Editorial > You are here > The stages in the manufacture of a throw

THE STAGES IN THE MANUFACTURE OF A THROW

Before it takes up position on your sofa, at the bottom of your bed or draped around your shoulders when the evenings turn chilly, the throws created by La Maison de la Maille go through several stages of manufacturing, each of which is important for the quality and the top-of-the-range finish of the brand’s products. Sourcing, knitting, grafting… we do not want to keep any secret from you, here are the 7 key stages in the manufacturing process of the Maison’s throws.

Photo avec logo et play-lien-vidéo-instagram.jpg

SOURCING OF THE FIBERS 

 

Sourcing is an essential stage in the creation of a fine quality end product. Everything starts from this. If the fibers are not selected correctly, the touch and the strength of the throw at the end of the line will inevitably be altered. To ensure that the animal fibers are of as good a quality as possible, La Maison de la Maille takes the time upstream to choose only the finest farms, so that it is always working with excellent fibers. 

 

SPINNING

 

The next stage of the process is spinning. This is the action of spinning the animal fibers, and can be one of two types: 

 

Carding: this technique gives a more voluminous result. The yarn has a drier feel, and its appearance is denser and more rustic, sometimes irregular, compared to combed fibers. This process is used at La Maison de la Maille for the recycled wool in its Signature range

 

Combing: this is a superior spinning stage, which comes after carding. Combing makes the yarn softer, much smoother and shinier. It is used at La Maison de la Maille for merino and baby alpaca wools and its Le Plaid Merveilleux.

 

KNITTING

 

Knitting is done on a machine, in one piece. This is the stage that creates the throw. To refresh your memory, knitting is a manufacturing process that involves the use of needles to interlace loops of yarn called stitches. When the stitches are interlinked, the result is a supple, stretchable and very strong material. This is the principal difference compared to a woven fabric which, because the yarn are stretched and there are no loops as in knitting, does not have this stretchable quality that allows it to become “distorted”. 

 

GRAFTING 

 

This is what we might call the “finishing” stage in the throw manufacturing process. Grafting can be done completely by hand, with a crochet hook, or semi-manually with the help of a machine that knits the last row stitch by stitch. At this stage, it is important to be very delicate with the handling, to ensure that the end product is perfect. 

 

WASHING AND PRESSING 

 

When it comes off the machine after the different stages described above, the throw is washed and then pressed to ensure that it is impeccable before packaging and dispatch. 

 

INSPECTIONS 

 

Inspections are also a very important part of the process. After every stage, La Maison de la Maille checks to ensure compliance with all the criteria that give it its prestige image and to make sure that nothing is left to chance. The end product must be FLAWLESS. Four quality controls are carried out systematically: the first when the product comes off the knitting machine, another after the grafting stage, a third after washing and finally during pressing. 

 

TAILORING 

 

Between the washing and pressing stages, the brand label and the composition label are hand-sewn delicately onto the throw. This is what we call the tailoring stage. 

 

PACKAGING 

 

Once pressing is completed, and all the inspections have been carefully carried out, the product is packaged. The throw is carefully rolled, adorned with a blue, white and red ribbon and a cardboard label added as a final touch. The throw is then ready for dispatch, to delight lovers of prestige woolen products, “Made in France” and timeless design. 

Article écrit par Laura Isaaz

Discover more products: 

Le Glossaire-La Maison de la Maille.jpg

Thread, fiber, mesh, weaving, knitting ... Difficult when you are not an expert to know exactly what is going on. Good news, since we are always committed to raising you higher and allowing you to shine at dinners, here are some key terms and their simplified definitions so that you don't mix up your brushes. Or needles, suddenly. You get it. 

Read more.

LMDLM-emailing-tricots

You would have to have gone to a fashion school, worked in the fabric industry or even be a couturier to know and understand the different types of knits that exist and why some are preferred over others. Sand stitch, moss stitch, mesh, weaving, warp and weft, all these technical terms are the everyday life of houses like ours. We enlighten you here on the many things to know in order to feed your curiosity on the subject. For the sake of transparency always, and sharing.

Read more

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici > Les étapes de fabrication du plaid

LES ÉTAPES DE FABRICATION DU PLAID

Avant de trouver sa place sur votre canapé, au bout de votre lit ou sur vos épaules quand les soirées sont fraîches dehors, les plaids créés par La Maison de la Maille connaissent plusieurs étapes de fabrication qui ont, chacune d’elles, leur importance dans la qualité et le fini haut de gamme des produits de la marque. Sourcing, tricot, remaillage… parce que nous ne voulons avoir aucun secret pour vous, voici les 7 étapes clés dans le processus de fabrication des plaids de la Maison.

_edited.jpg

LE SOURCING DES FIBRES
 
Le sourcing est une étape essentielle à la bonne qualité du produit final. C’est de là que tout part. Si les fibres ne sont pas correctement sélectionnées, le toucher et la résistance du plaid en bout de chaine seront forcément altérés. Pour que les fibres animales soient les plus qualitatives possibles, La Maison de la Maille prend le temps en amont de choisir les meilleurs élevages pour ne jamais cesser de travailler avec des fibres d’excellence.
 
QUELLE FILATURE ?
 
Intervient ensuite l’étape de la filature. C’est l’action de filer les fibres animales. Il existe deux types de filatures.
 
La filature cardée : il s’agit d’une technique qui offre un résultat plus gonflant. Le fil a un toucher plus sec, son aspect est plus dru et plus rustique, parfois irrégulier, comparé à la filature peignée. Ce procédé est utilisé chez La Maison de la Maille pour la laine recyclée de la gamme Signature.
 
La filature peignée : c’est une étape de filature supérieure, qui intervient après le cardage. Le peignage rend le fil plus doux, beaucoup plus lisse et brillant. Il est utilisé chez La Maison de la Maille pour les laines mérinos, baby alpaga et Le Plaid Merveilleux.
 
ON TRICOTE
 
Le tricotage se fait sur une machine, d’un seul tenant. C’est l’étape qui permet de réaliser le plaid. Pour rappel, le tricotage est un procédé de fabrication qui repose sur l’entrelacement de boucles de fils appelées mailles. Cette technique repose sur l’utilisation d’aiguilles. Les mailles entre elles constituent au final une étoffe souple, extensible et très résistante. C’est la principale différence avec le tissage qui, parce que les fils sont tendus et qu’il n’y a pas de boucles comme dans le tricot, n’a pas cette propriété à s’étendre, se « déformer ».

LE REMAILLAGE
 
C’est en quelque sorte l’étape de « finition » dans le processus de fabrication du plaid. Le remaillage peut se faire totalement manuellement, au crochet, ou semi-manuellement à l’aide d’une machine qui tricote maille par maille le dernier rang. Il est important de faire preuve lors de cette étape d’une grande délicatesse dans la manipulation afin que le résultat final soit parfait.
 
LE LAVAGE ET LE REPASSAGE
 
Une fois sorti de la machine après les différentes étapes vues plus haut, le plaid est lavé puis repassé afin d’être impeccable avant d’être conditionné puis expédié.
 
LES VÉRIFICATIONS

Très importantes aussi, les vérifications. La Maison de la Maille s’assure après chaque étape que tous les critères qui lui confèrent son image de prestige soient respectés et elle ne laisse rien au hasard. Le produit final doit être IRRÉPROCHABLE.
 
Il y a donc quatre contrôles qualité effectués systématiquement. Un premier à la sortie de la machine à tricoter, puis après l’étape du remaillage, un troisième après le lavage et enfin pendant le repassage.

LA CONFECTION
 
Entre l’étape du lavage et celle du repassage, la griffe de marque et l’étiquette de composition sont délicatement cousues à la main sur le plaid. C’est ce qu’on appelle l’étape de confection.
 
LE CONDITIONNEMENT
 
Une fois le repassage effectué et toutes les vérifications faites avec soin, le produit est conditionné. Le plaid est délicatement roulé, enrubanné en bleu blanc rouge puis, enfin, une étiquette en carton est ajoutée. Le plaid est ensuite prêt à être expédié pour faire le bonheur des amoureux de lainages de prestige, de Made in France et de design intemporel.


Article écrit par Laura Isaaz

Produit à découvrir : 

Le Glossaire-La Maison de la Maille.jpg

Difficile quand on n'est pas expert de savoir précisément le sens de tous les termes liés au domaine de la laine, du tricot, etc. Bonne nouvelle, on a à cœur de vous élever toujours plus haut et que vous puissiez briller dans les dîners. Fil, fibre, maille, tissage, tricot… voici quelques termes clefs et leurs définitions simplifiées pour ne plus vous mélanger les pinceaux.

Lire la suite

LMDLM-emailing-tricots

Il faudrait avoir fait une école de mode, travaillé dans l’industrie du tissu ou encore être couturier.e pour connaitre et comprendre les différents types de tricots qui existent et pour quelles raisons certains sont préférés à d’autres.Point de sable, point de riz, maille, tissage, chaine et trame, tous ces termes techniques sont le quotidien des maisons comme la nôtre. Nous vous éclairons ici sur les nombreuses choses à connaitre afin de nourrir votre curiosité sur le sujet.Dans un souci de transparence, always, et de partage. 

Lire la suite