Home > Editorial > You are here > The interview: Séverine Tréfouel, founder of Simon-Simone

THE INTERVIEW: SÉVERINE TRÉFOUEL, FOUNDER OF SIMON-SIMONE 

This is also La Maison de la Maille’s strong point: joining forces with leading creative and entrepreneurial figures in made in France and ethical trade to create innovative, surprising and unique collaborative projects. Today, it is the turn of Séverine Tréfouel, founder of the Simon-Simone concept store with which La Maison de la Maille recently collaborated, to answer some questions. Here’s what she said. 

Plaid Recycle.JPG

Séverine, can you tell us more about who you are, about Simon-Simone?


My working life has always been in very large groups such as LVMH, Keyring, Etam, La Redoute as head of the business unit, in the finance sector, in product marketing and particularly in fashion. Before Simon-Simone, I had no experience of the world of decoration. Today, Simon-Simone is a concept store - I don't really like the term market place – that has been very careful to select brands that are 95% French and 5% made in Europe. All the brands chosen have in common this eco-friendly aspect, short supply chains, handcrafted products, and a genuine style. The site has 150 brands and 1500 products.


How did the idea for this project come about?


For a very long time now I have wanted to start a business but never found the right time to do it. That was one good thing about Covid; Simon-Simone came into being largely at that time. At the start of the pandemic, I saw a whole load of brands that no longer had access to their customers. So I thought it might be a good idea to create a kind of ecosystem. And the idea behind it? To be stronger together. This skill-combining project gave rise to Simon-Simone, bringing together a number of brands and thus offering the customer a more global experience than on some other existing sites. I am in charge of everything related to marketing costs, which are often substantial for small designers, and the site gives them the possibility of opening up to a wider clientele. 
It's a win-win situation.


What does Simon-Simone have that sets it apart from the rest? 


Its aesthetic and its design. No doubt about that.
For me, when it comes to decorating, you fall in love with the style of the product before looking to buy green. At least that's how I work on a personal level. The problem I have had until now with handcrafted decoration and “made in France” has been precisely this difficulty in unearthing brands with a real aesthetic strength, a cutting edge design. The role of Simon-Simone is to bring together all these brands existing on the market today. My aim was to focus the selections on quality, which is obviously essential, but also on style.


Why decoration?


The craft industry is very important in France. Decoration draws on it to a great extent, much more than fashion, which was my sector of activity for a long time. And I am traumatized by stocks. Some years I had more than 10% of my purchases left over even after the sales, which is absurd. So when I launched this entrepreneurial project, my principal aim was to promote short supply chains and to make small series, production on demand.


What is the message you want to put across with this type of partnership?


Bringing a community together. I think it's important that we respond to each other, because we are stronger together. With Simon-Simone, the marketing expenses are managed, allowing the brands to focus on creating their products and putting all their energy into that. The collaboration aspect meets this community need that I wanted to emphasize with the concept store and "doing things together". Moreover, by being at the heart of the system with the concept store, I can see the shortcomings much better; and while it's true that La Maison de la Maille makes sumptuous products, they are also the height of luxury. Hence the idea of a partnership to design together a less expensive throw. Together we chose the messages, the colors and the wool, which is recycled wool.


Why La Maison de la Maille?


Charlotte and I have lots of things in common. If we weren’t working together I think we would be good friends. This project came about in a very fluid way, we share the same values, the same desires and Charlotte is really proactive, so everything fell into place very simply.


Are you involved in a lot of collaborations?


Two for the moment, but I would really like to develop this further. I love the idea of offering unique products that can’t be found elsewhere. Today we have the collaboration with La Maison de la Maille and we also have a line of 3 sofas designed with 1083, Belleville and Splice, in flannel, denim and linen. It is a perfect pretext to promote the brands and also the website, further convey the values of the French craft industry and a chance to present new items at the “made in France” trade show.


And what’s coming next?


Nothing yet, but I am going to work on it, I promise! The end of the year was quite an intense period (laughs). 

Article écrit par Laura Isaaz

Discover more products: 

LMDLM-Simon-Simone-Plaid-Recyclé

Having thrown itself wholeheartedly into the mad world of collaborations, La Maison de la Maille shows no signs of letting up and returns with an attractive new item to bring in the New Year: a capsule collection of three throws designed in conjunction with Simon-Simone. The idea behind it? To transmit powerful messages using thought-provoking and offbeat quotes. Details below.

Read more

20211123_LMDLM_Collab_AB_Ambiance1.jpg

We recently introduced you to Hélène Daret, Marketing Manager at Refashion, on this blog. She used her professional expertise to scrutinize La Maison de la Maille and concluded that the House has made a sincere commitment to eco-responsible initiatives: “La Maison de la Maille imposes control over its products right from the design stage, making sure that they have very little impact on the environment.” Reducing waste, improving transparency for consumers, designing sustainable products and respecting humans and animals throughout the production process – this is the route that La Maison de la Maille has chosen.

Read more

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici > L'interview : Séverine Tréfouel, fondatrice de Simon-Simone

L’INTERVIEW : SÉVERINE TRÉFOUEL, FONDATRICE DE SIMON-SIMONE 

C’est aussi ça la force de La Maison de la Maille ; s’unir avec des personnalités phares de la création et de l’entreprenariat dans le made in France et le commerce éthique pour faire naitre des projets collaboratifs innovants, surprenants et uniques. Aujourd’hui, c’est Séverine Tréfouel, fondatrice du concept store Simon-Simone avec lequel La Maison de la Maille a collaboré récemment, qui a répondu à quelques questions. Rencontre. 

Plaid Recycle.JPG

Séverine, pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur qui vous êtes, sur Simon-Simone ?

J’ai toujours travaillé au sein de très gros groupes comme LVMH, Keyring, Etam, La Redoute comme responsable de la business unit, dans le secteur de la finance, du marketing produit et plutôt dans la mode. Je n’avais, avant Simon-Simone, jamais été dans l’univers de la décoration. Aujourd’hui, Simon-Simone c’est un concept store, je n’aime pas tellement le terme de marketplace, très sélectif de marques françaises pour 95% et made in Europe pour les 5% restants. Toutes les marques choisies ont pour point commun cet aspect éco responsable, le circuit court, l’artisanal, et un véritable style. Le site compte 150 marques et 1500 produits.

Comment est venue l’idée de ce projet ? 


Très longtemps, j’ai eu envie d’entreprendre mais je n’arrivais pas à trouver le bon moment pour le faire. Le Covid a eu ça de bon, Simon-Simone a vu le jour en grande partie à cette période. Je voyais au début de la pandémie, tout un tas de marques qui n’avaient plus accès à leurs clients. J’ai alors pensé que ça pourrait être judicieux de créer comme un écosystème. L’idée ? Être plus forts ensemble. Simon-Simone est donc né de ce projet de mariage des compétences pour regrouper plusieurs marques et ainsi offrir au client une expérience plus globale que sur certains autres sites déjà existants. Je me charge de tout ce qui touche aux frais marketing, souvent conséquents pour les petits créateurs, et eux ont la possibilité de s’ouvrir avec le site à une plus large clientèle. 
Tout le monde y gagne.


Qu’est-ce que Simon-Simone a de plus que les autres ? 


L’esthétique, le design. Indéniablement.
Pour moi, en déco, on a un coup de cœur pour le style du produit avant de chercher à acheter écolo. C’est en tout cas comme ça que personnellement je fonctionne. Le problème que je rencontrais jusqu’à présent avec la décoration artisanale et le made in France c’était justement cette difficulté à dénicher des marques avec une véritable force esthétique, un design pointu. Simon-Simone est là pour regrouper toutes ces marques qui existent aujourd’hui sur le marché. J’avais envie de ça, focaliser les sélections autour de la qualité qui est évidemment primordiale, mais aussi du style. 


Pourquoi la déco ?


L’artisanat est très important en France, la déco est vraiment riche de ça, bien plus que la mode qui était pendant longtemps mon secteur d’activité. Et je suis traumatisée par les stocks. Certaines années j’avais plus de 10% des achats en résiduel même après les soldes, c’est aberrant. J’avais donc à cœur en me lançant sur ce projet d’entreprenariat, de favoriser le circuit court et de faire des petites séries, de la production à la demande.


Quel est le message que vous voulez véhiculer à travers ce type de partenariats ?


Rassembler une communauté. Il est important selon moi que l’on se réponde les uns les autres, nous sommes plus forts ensemble. Avec Simon-Simone, les dépenses marketing sont gérées et les marques peuvent alors se focaliser sur la création de leurs produits et mettre toute l’énergie là-dedans. Le côté collab répond à ce besoin communautaire que j’ai voulu mettre en avant avec le concept-store et le « faire-ensemble ». Par ailleurs, en étant au cœur du système avec le concept-store, je vois bien mieux les trous dans la raquette et c’est vrai que La Maison de la Maille fait des produits somptueux mais très luxe. L’idée avec ce partenariat c’était de pouvoir imaginer ensemble un plaid moins cher. Nous avons choisi ensemble les messages, les couleurs et la laine qui est une laine recyclée.

 
Pourquoi La Maison de la Maille ?


Charlotte et moi nous avons beaucoup d’affinités. Si on ne travaillait pas ensemble je pense qu’on serait bonnes copines. Ce projet s’est fait de manière très fluide, nous partageons les mêmes valeurs, les mêmes envies et Charlotte est une vraie force de proposition donc tout s’est fait très simplement.


Faites-vous beaucoup de collaborations ?


Deux pour le moment, mais j’aimerais vraiment pouvoir développer ça encore davantage. J’aime l’idée de proposer des produits uniques qu’on ne peut pas trouver ailleurs. Aujourd’hui il y a la collaboration avec La Maison de la Maille et nous avons également une ligne de 3 canapés imaginés avec 1083, Belleville et Splice. En flanelle, en denim et en lin, donc. C’est un parfait prétexte pour faire connaitre les marques mais aussi le site, véhiculer encore les valeurs de l’artisanat français et pouvoir présenter de nouvelles choses au salon du made in France.


La prochaine à venir ?


Non pas encore, mais je vais m’y mettre promis ! La fin d’année a été bien intense (rires). 
 

Article écrit par Laura Isaaz

Produit à découvrir : 

LMDLM-Simon-Simone-Plaid-Recyclé

Lancée comme une toupie dans la folle aventure des collaborations, La Maison de la Maille n’a pas prévu de s’arrêter et revient en ce début d’année avec une belle actualité ; une collection capsule de trois plaids conçus main dans la main avec Simon-Simone. L’idée ? Réussir à véhiculer des messages forts par le biais de citations interpellantes et décalées. Détails.

Lire la suite

20211123_LMDLM_Collab_AB_Ambiance1.jpg

Plus inspirée et inspirante que jamais, La Maison de la Maille n’en finit pas de se challenger en lançant de façon régulière désormais des collaborations avec des Maisons ou des lieux qui lui ressemblent. Après la dernière co-création en date réalisée en partenariat avec la galerie Ceysson & Bénetière, c’est au tour du Domaine de Champagne Alexandre Bonnet de s’unir à La Maison de la Maille autour d’un projet prestigieux et original. Rencontre avec Arnaud Fabre, président du Domaine et amoureux du beau…

Lire la suite