Home > Editorial > You are here > The interview: Hélène Daret, director of the brands center at Refashion

THE INTERVIEW: HÉLÈNE DARET, Director of the Brands Center at Refashion

They’ve done it. Risen to the challenge – and not an easy one at that - of establishing themselves as brands renowned for their eco-design. “They’ve done it” is also the name of the section of Ecodesign (the Refashion digital platform) that shines a light on those textile maisons that are mindful of their impact on the environment and are doing something about it. Since its beginning, La Maison de la Maille has been eager to always tend towards an ethical manufacturing process, and it is now recognized for this.  Hélène Daret, director of the Brands Center at Refashion, talks to us about it.  

LMDLM_LePlaidMerveilleux_Adagio_Zoom2.jpg

Refashion: what is it and who is it?


Refashion is a state-approved eco-organization that deals with the management of waste from the textile industry. We cover the whole clothing textile industry, including footwear and household linen. We depend on the EPR (Extended Producer Responsibility), which states that the brands coming onto the market must be able to carry out their own waste management or call on an organization that can do it for them. Refashion provides tools, services and information that facilitates and accelerates transformation and participates in funding the transition towards a circular economy.  


And Eco-design?


This is the digital platform created by Refashion to provide the best advice to textile brands and help them to rise to the challenge of eco-design. We play an important support and education role on the subject because there are still many companies today that are keen and looking for information, but are still not very well acquainted with what that involves. That’s what we are there for, and we believe that no effort is too small. On this Ecodesign platform, we have opened a section called “They’ve done it”, focusing on brands that we think already check a lot of the boxes in eco-design, such as La Maison de la Maille. Our role is to educate the brands but also to promote those that are already on the right course.


And where do we stand today?


The situation is not dramatic at all and we are in a rather encouraging industry. However, if one day we want to have zero, or almost zero, waste to manage, we need to embark on a total circular economy. Our goal is to support the brands in terms of eco-design so that this process can be implemented. The idea is to go the whole nine yards with recycling. The most recent figures, from 2019, talk of 648,000 tons of products placed on the market and 248,000 tons collected. 57% of the collected products are reused in their entirety (sent to Africa mainly) and 24% are recycled. What is a shame nowadays is to see clothes with a very short lifetime and (very) many products gathering dust at the bottom of closets when they could be donated and classified.  


Are all textile products recyclable?


The great majority of products are recyclable, but with differing degrees of complexity. Apart from recyclability, however, it is also the sustainability of the product, and above all its environmental impact, that has to be evaluated. In that respect everything is important: the raw material, the transport, its second life, consumer use, its end of life, and so on.


Why La Maison de la Maille?


Because La Maison de la Maille meets the criteria I have just mentioned. I find the idea of the “Plaid Merveilleux” (Marvelous Throw) very interesting. A natural raw material, the ability to trace its origins, propose a local, environmentally-friendly product, the idea of producing zero waste, placing emphasis on know-how and succeeding in creating a superb end product; it’s a really great idea and we had no doubts about promoting it. And added to all these factors is the sustainability of an item like the throw, which stands the test of time and is not affected by the whims of fashion.  


Are things moving?


Yes, fortunately. We still have a long way to go but we have really turned the corner recently. We have noticed a real willingness on the part of the brands, in general, to make things better. Consumers also want to see big changes, and the brands have increasingly taken this on board. To help them, we are going to launch an eco-design maturity scale so that they can see their “level” and what they can do to improve. We have set up support workshops to help them with this process. When a brand wants to start out in eco-design, it’s like trying to climb Everest in flip-flops; we are there to help them get hold of the right footwear, good equipment and to support them in their climb.


Any tips for the public/consumers?


Please, don’t throw your textiles into the household trash!
Take them to a branch of an association, to a store with the necessary facilities, or put them in a container provided for the purpose because they will be re-used, classified and donated. Today’s textile waste is tomorrow’s resources. Let’s get into a 100% circular economy and take care of our planet.

Written by Laura Isaaz

Discover more products: 

leplaidmerveilleux-etiquette-matiere-blog.jpg

You would have to have gone to a fashion school, worked in the fabric industry or even be a couturier to know and understand the different types of knits that exist and why some are preferred over others. Sand stitch, moss stitch, mesh, weaving, warp and weft, all these technical terms are the everyday life of houses like ours. We enlighten you here on the many things to know in order to feed your curiosity on the subject. For the sake of transparency always, and sharing.

Read more.

LMDLM_mouton

Where is he from ? What is he doing ? How is his fleece? Is he nice, clean and sociable? We have closely studied the different characteristics of the alpaca in order to tell you a little more about this animal species still relatively unknown in Europe. Since its fiber is widely used in the manufacture of our La Maison de la Maille products, it seemed essential to us to highlight the 10 most important (and no doubt surprising) traits of its personality.

Read more

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici > L'interview : Hélène Daret, directrice pôle marques chez Refashion

L’INTERVIEW : HÉLÈNE DARET, Directrice Pôle Marques chez Refashion

Ils l’ont fait. Relever le challenge, pas fastoche, de s’inscrire dans le sillage des marques  reconnues pour leur éco-conception. « Ils l’ont fait », c’est aussi le nom de la rubrique de Ecodesign (plateforme digitale de Refashion) qui met en lumière les maisons de textiles soucieuses de leur  impact sur l’environnement et actrices dans cette dynamique. Désireuse depuis ses balbutiements de toujours tendre vers un processus de fabrication éthique, La Maison de la Maille est aujourd’hui reconnue pour son véritable engagement.

Hélène Daret, directrice Pôle Marques chez Refashion, nous en parle.  

LMDLM_LePlaidMerveilleux_Adagio_Zoom2.jpg

Refashion, c’est quoi c’est qui ? 

Refashion est un éco-organisme agréé par l'État qui s’occupe de la gestion des déchets de la filière textile. On couvre toute l’industrie textile de l’habillement en passant par les chaussures et le linge de maison. Nous dépendons de la REP (Responsabilité Élargie des Producteurs) dont l’objectif est de traiter les déchets produits, mais aussi de les prévenir en agissant sur l’ensemble de leur cycle de vie. Refashion propose des outils, des services, des informations qui facilitent et accélèrent la transformation vers l’économie circulaire.  

Et Eco-design ? 

C’est la plateforme digitale créée par Refashion pour informer au mieux les marques de textiles et les aider à relever le défi de l’éco-conception. Nous avons un rôle important d’accompagnement et d’éducation sur le sujet car beaucoup d’entreprises, aujourd’hui encore, sont volontaires mais ignorent par où commencer. Sur cette plateforme, Ecodesign, nous avons ouvert « Ils l’ont fait » une rubrique destinée à parler des marques qui selon nous cochent déjà un grand nombre de cases dans l’éco-conception, comme La Maison de la Maille. Notre rôle à nous c’est d’éduquer les marques mais aussi de mettre en avant celles qui sont déjà dans le bon processus.

On en est où aujourd’hui ? 

La situation n’est pas dramatique du tout et nous sommes dans une industrie plutôt encourageante. Néanmoins, pour qu’un jour nous n’ayons pas ou presque pas de déchets à gérer il faudrait qu’on entre dans une économie circulaire totale. L’objectif pour nous est d’accompagner les marques autour de l’éco-conception pour que ce processus-là s’installe. L’idée c’est d’aller au bout du recyclage. Les derniers chiffres, enregistrés en 2019, parlent de 648 000 tonnes de produits mis en marché et 248 000 tonnes collectées. 57 % des produits collectés sont réutilisés dans leur entièreté (envoyés en Afrique principalement) et 24 % sont recyclés. Ce qui est dommage aujourd’hui, c’est de voir que la durée de vie d’un vêtement est très courte et que beaucoup (beaucoup) de produits dorment au fond des placards alors qu’ils pourraient être donnés et triés. 

Tous les produits textiles sont-ils recyclables ?

En grande majorité les produits sont recyclables mais avec des degrés de complexité différents. Avant la recyclabilité c’est aussi la durabilité du produit et surtout son impact environnemental qu’il faut évaluer et là, tout est important, la matière première, le transport, sa deuxième vie, l’utilisation consommateur, la fin de vie...

Pourquoi La Maison de la Maille ? 

Parce que La Maison de la Maille répond à tous ces critères. Je trouve l’idée du Plaid Merveilleux très intéressante. Une matière première naturelle, pouvoir retracer la genèse, proposer un produit local et respectueux, l’idée de faire du zéro déchets, valoriser le savoir-faire et réussir à créer un superbe produit fini, c'est vraiment fort et il était évident pour nous de le mettre en avant. Ils ont réussi à mettre sous contrainte leur produit dès la conception pour avoir un impact minimal sur l’environnement. S’ajoute à tous ces facteurs, la durabilité d’un objet comme le plaid qui s’inscrit dans le temps et ne souffre pas des caprices de la mode.

 

Les choses bougent ? 

Oui, heureusement. Le chemin est encore long mais nous avons connu un vrai tournant dernièrement. D’une manière générale, nous remarquons une vraie volonté des marques d’aller vers du mieux. Les consommateurs aussi sont très demandeurs, et de plus en plus, les marques l’ont bien compris. Pour aider les marques, nous allons lancer un baromètre de maturité d’éco-conception afin qu’elles puissent se rendre compte de leur « niveau » et de ce qu’elles peuvent faire pour s’améliorer. Nous avons des ateliers d’accompagnement mis en place pour les aider dans cette démarche. Pour une marque, se lancer dans l’éco-conception c’est comme vouloir monter l’Everest en tong, nous sommes là pour les aider à s’emparer de bonnes chaussures, de bon matériel et les soutenir dans l’ascension.

Un conseil à donner aux citoyens/consommateurs ? 

S’il vous plaît, ne jetez pas vos textiles dans les ordures ménagères !
Apportez-les dans une antenne d’association, dans un magasin équipé ou déposez-les dans un conteneur prévu à cet effet car ils seront réutilisés, triés, donnés. Les déchets textiles d’aujourd’hui sont les ressources de demain. Entrons dans une économie 100% circulaire pour prendre soin de notre planète.

Article écrit par Laura Isaaz

Produit à découvrir : 

leplaidmerveilleux-etiquette-matiere-blog.jpg

Parce que La Maison de la Maille ne s’arrête jamais de vouloir aller toujours plus loin dans la création d’exception, la marque a lancé sa nouveauté : le Plaid Merveilleux. Encore plus luxueux que les précédents produits, il s’impose comme l’indispensable déco luxe et écolo. Merveilleux et bien plus encore.

Lire la suite

LMDLM_mouton

Une marque responsable, c'est quoi ?

Responsable. C’est un peu le mot du moment, celui dont usent et abusent beaucoup de marques, celui qui fait bien à côté du nom, celui qui atteste d’une certaine éthique, écologique notamment. Parce que tout ce qui touche au bon soin de la planète a le vent en poupe et qu’il est devenu plus qu’urgent pour les marques aujourd’hui de revoir leurs habitudes pour minimiser leur impact environnemental. Responsable, d’accord, mais ça veut dire quoi ? Et qui l’est vraiment ? Lire la suite