Home > Editorial > You are here

WHAT IS A SUSTAINABLE BRAND?

Sustainable. It is a bit of the buzzword of the moment, the one that many brands use and abuse, one that looks good next to the name, one that attests to a certain ethic, especially ecological. Everything related to the good care of the planet is on the rise and it has become more than urgent for brands today to review their habits to minimize their environmental impact. Sustainable, Responsible, okay, but what does that mean? And who really is?

Marque responsable.jpg

ECOLOGY OR WHEN OUR SURVIVAL BECOMES TRENDY

 

We have been here for over 200,000 years (should have listened in history class) and it is only in the last 100 years that the generation of waste has become a threat to our survival. Putting the question of ecology at the level of urgency when so many mouths still dare to speak about trends. Dr Martens, bombers, detox herbal teas, poke bowl, Aya Nakamura, these are trends. Ecology is sort of the best thing left for us to do if we don't want to die sooner. Basically.

 

WHAT ARE YOU?

 

Says one brand to the other brand. Responsible, sustainable, traceable, made in France, second hand…? The dictionary of eco-friendly codes and good practices is ultimately much denser than one might imagine. And very often we have the feeling that all the terms mean more or less the same thing. And it’s wrong.

 

WE SAY THAT A BRAND IS RESPONSIBLE IF: 

It demonstrates commitment, transparency and control.

 

It must be possible for the customer who wants the product to know everything about what is going on behind the scenes. It is only at this price that a brand (if ever what is going on behind the scenes is okay, of course) can be called responsible.

A responsible brand is a brand that is committed to doing well, both environmentally and humanly, in everything it does and without ever changing its course. The notion of responsibility must be attributed to a house only from the moment these criteria are an integral part of its DNA and not just if they intervene periodically and strategically (in a marketing process for example).

Many big brands today wave the flag of their responsibility, even eco-responsibility, when one of their operations tends to approach it. This is where the complexity of the name comes into play, and this is also where the cursor is hard to position. Not all brands that claim to be responsible are necessarily responsible, but all brands that strive to increase responsible actions within their company deserve to be supported.

 

LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE, RESPONSIBLE BRAND

 

Very concerned by ethical commitments and the desire to do things with the greatest transparency, La Maison de la Maille constantly seeks to improve on these human and environmental commitments, but also towards animals. It is committed to manufacturing in a fair, transparent and sustainable manner.

 

Made in France manufacture, quality woolens, certified producers, good treatment of animals on farms, social commitment to promote reintegration ... Ideological and ecological convictions that the house also considers to be economic since we are convinced that in the long term, only a responsible, reasoned, transparent and ethical approach can be accepted by consumers and therefore be profitable.

 

Buying a wool blanket from La Maison de la Maille is therefore choosing a responsible brand.

Discover more products: 

MERINO WOOL PLAID - DYE BEIGE

MERINO WOOL PLAID - DYE BEIGE

€449.00Price
Plaid laine merinos beige.jpg

There are some fights that shouldn't exist. Yet, even today, it remains essential to say and repeat that your daily actions in the long term can really make a difference from an environmental point of view. Global warming is here, its many fires around the world and its heat waves four months out of the year continue to remind us of this.

Read more

Pourquoi doit-on tondre les Alpagas.jpg

Among the misconceptions that circulate around animal husbandry, there are some that place shearing among acts of abuse. However, this is a terrible error because it has been proven that shearing does not cause any suffering to the animal, we now know that it is a step which is even essential to its health and well-being.

Read more

Subscribe to La Maison de la Maille: 

© 2021 La maison de la maille

Need help?

 

Contact us

+33 2 85 85 97 74


contact@lamaisondelamaille.com

 

La flèche (72) - paris (75)

France

Accueil > Éditorial > Vous êtes ici

UNE MARQUE RESPONSABLE, C’EST QUOI ?

Responsable. C’est un peu le mot du moment, celui dont usent et abusent beaucoup de marques, celui qui fait bien à côté du nom, celui qui atteste d’une certaine éthique, écologique notamment. Parce que tout ce qui touche au bon soin de la planète a le vent en poupe et qu’il est devenu plus qu’urgent pour les marques aujourd’hui de revoir leurs habitudes pour minimiser leur impact environnemental. Responsable, d’accord, mais ça veut dire quoi ? Et qui l’est vraiment ?

Marque responsable.jpg

L'ÉCOLOGIE, OU QUAND NOTRE SURVIE DEVIENT TENDANCE

 

Nous sommes là depuis plus de 200 000 ans (fallait suivre en cour d’histoire) et c’est seulement sur les 100 dernières années que la production de déchets est devenue une menace pour notre survie. Mettant la question de l’écologie au rang d’urgence quand tant de bouches osent encore parler de tendance. Les Dr Martens, les bombers, les tisanes detox, les poke bowl, Aya Nakamura, ça se sont des tendances. L’écologie c’est en quelque sorte ce qui nous reste à faire de mieux si on ne veut pas mourir avant l’heure. En gros.

 

TOI T'ES QUOI ?

 

Dit la marque à l’autre marque. Responsable, sustainable, traçable, made in France, seconde main… ? Le dictionnaire des codes écolos et des bonnes pratiques est finalement bien plus dense qu’on ne l’imagine. Et très souvent on a le sentiment que tous les termes veulent plus ou moins dire la même chose. Et c’est faux.

 

ON DIT D'UNE MARQUE QU'ELLE EST RESPONSABLE SI : 

 

Elle fait preuve d’engagement, de transparence et de maitrise.

 

Il doit être possible pour le client qui le désire de tout savoir sur ce qui se passe en coulisses. Ce n’est qu’à ce prix, qu’une marque (si jamais ce qui se passe en coulisses est ok, évidemment) peut être qualifiée de responsable.

 

Une marque responsable est une marque qui s’engage à bien faire, tant au niveau environnemental qu’humain, dans tout ce qu’elle entreprend et sans jamais changer de ligne de conduite. La notion de responsable doit être attribuée à une maison qu’à partir du moment où ces critères font partie intégrante de son ADN et pas seulement s’ils interviennent périodiquement et stratégiquement (dans une démarche marketing par exemple).

 

De nombreuses grandes marques aujourd’hui agitent le drapeau de leur responsabilité, éco-responsabilité même, dès lors qu’une de leurs opérations tend à s’en approcher. C’est là que se joue la complexité de l’appellation, c’est là aussi que le curseur est dur à positionner. Parce que toutes les marques qui se disent responsables ne le sont pas forcément, mais toutes les marques qui s’appliquent à multiplier les actions responsables au sein de leur entreprise méritent d’être soutenues.

 

LA MAISON DE LA MAILLE, MARQUE RESPONSABLE

 

Très concernée par les engagements éthiques et l’envie de faire les choses dans la plus grande transparence, La Maison de la Maille cherche à constamment s’améliorer sur ces engagements humains, environnementaux, mais aussi envers les animaux. Elle s’engage à fabriquer de manière juste, transparente et durable.

 

Fabrication Made in France, lainages de qualité, producteurs labellisés, bon traitement des animaux dans les élevages, engagement social pour favoriser la réinsertion… Des convictions idéologiques et écologiques que la maison considère aussi comme étant économiques puisqu’elle est persuadée que sur le long terme, seule une démarche responsable, raisonnée, transparente et éthique peut être acceptée par les consommateurs et donc être rentable.

 

Acheter un plaid en laine de La Maison de la Maille, c’est donc faire le choix d’une marque responsable.

Produit à découvrir : 

Plaid laine merinos beige.jpg

Il y a certains combats quine devraient même plus en être. Pourtant, aujourd’hui encore, il reste essentiel de dire et répéter que certains gestes du quotidien peuvent, sur le long terme, réellement changer la donne d’un point de vue environnemental. Le réchauffement climatique est là, ses nombreux incendies à travers le monde et ses canicules quatre mois dans l’année continuent de nous le rappeler. Prendre le vélo, réduire sa consommation d’énergie, dire stop au plastique... Voici 10 actions simples à mettre en œuvre pour protéger la planète... Lire la suite

Pourquoi doit-on tondre les Alpagas.jpg

Parmi les idées reçues qui circulent autour de l’élevage des animaux, il y a celle qui place la tonte parmi les actes de maltraitance. Or, il s’agit là d’une terrible erreur puisque s’il a été prouvé que celle-ci n’entraine aucune souffrance pour l’animal, on sait aujourd’hui que c’est une étape qui est même indispensable à sa santé et son bien-être. Lire la suite